Daily Practice

Spirituality is such a day to day part of my life sometimes I forget to give it any attention.  I take it for granted.  I don’t stop and appreciate the beautiful weather, or my amazing children, or even the fact that there is enough money to pay the bills and buy groceries.  All of these things are in my life as gifts from the Universe.    

One of the ways I try to remember to spend time on my Spiritual relationships is by doing daily practice.  Now this isn’t something I’m good at.  I struggle to remember to take my blood pressure meds daily, much less any task I may undertake.  To keep myself engaged (entertained?) I occasionally change up my daily practice.  I’m truly a generalist.  Thats not the sort of person who devotes themselves to achieving perfection at a particular task.

Currently my daily practice is reflected in my writing.  I have struggled plenty with journaling over the years.  But for right now I’m finding daily writing, open ended and on any topic, is compelling.  The thing is, if I don’t write about my Spiritual experience does it really serve me as daily practice?

That’s where this blog is supposed to come in.  The idea here is to keep me honest.  If I can find something in my daily writing, in my daily living, that inspires me to write here then I have succeeded in utilizing my daily practice to promote my spiritual journey.

Sadly, last week was a long and boring week.  There was a certain amount of fatigue that contributed to my lack of inspiration.  That was caused primarily from the pain induced from the de-cluttering you read about last week.   It was an avalanche of malaise and it was not particularly inspiring.  In the face of all that I did continue writing.  Perhaps not as much as I might have otherwise, but I did keep up the daily practice.

I also found myself falling back on other spiritual practices I’ve had in the past.  I had a daily practice for a while of an astral temple meditation before I went to sleep.  I did that several nights last week.  I’ve had a daily practice of casting a healing circle.  I did that several nights last week.  I didn’t get out my old prayer beads, but I remembered that prayer and a few others I’ve used over the years.

Last week I ran across a quote, or someone referenced it, or I overheard someone talking.  Don’t you love the way I source my material?  Anyway someone said something like, “The reason we do daily practice is to get us through the times when we can’t do daily practice.”  That’s definitely the way I felt about it last week.

So now I’m back up on the horse, metaphorically.  I’m a day late on the blog, but it’s out there.  I’m still writing daily, more than the minimums I’ve set for myself.  I’m continuing the process of cleaning up and de-cluttering.  (Thank you Tim, Bonita and Karina)   I’m also getting my notes together for a workshop I’m giving this weekend at the Mankato Women and Spirituality Conference.  Can you guess the topic?    Daily Practice.

BB

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Bio, grattitude, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey, Spiral. Keep you head up! It just took me amonth to post my latest “weekly” blog.

  1. Pingback: Crafting | Spiral Visions

  2. Pingback: Resolve | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

