Light

Imbolc, Bridget’s Day, Candlemas, or even Groundhog’s Day, whatever we may call it we are approaching the point in the year where the light shifts.  Days have been getting increasingly longer since the Winter Solstice.  By this point in the turning of the year it is noticeable that the sky is still light when we get home from the office.  We appreciate that the sun is up before the bus arrives in the morning.

February is a difficult month for a lot of people.  Eating locally becomes difficult especially in Northern climates.  The stores do not seem as abundant and we know winter has a long way to go.  Here in Minnesota we often experience the “winter thaw” at this time of year, making ice fishing a little treacherous.  This year the weather has been so very wrong.  It has been extremely pleasant, but entirely out of the ordinary.  Our “thaw” may look a lot like the rest of the winter has been.

The seed catalogues start coming in the mail in droves.  It’s helpful to be able to plan for spring while sitting through the doldrums of the cold season.  Valentine’s Day is coming soon.  That’s a little pick me up, or a little pity party depending on the circumstances.  At any rate it’s likely to involve a renewal of bounteous chocolates.  Since most of us don’t spend our days outdoors, and since most of us are dependent upon electric lighting, the shifting of the light doesn’t have the impact it would have in a hunter/gatherer culture.  Our candle supply is sure to hold out, even if we don’t spend the month rendering fat to make new ones.

Spring cleaning happens in much of the world at this time of year.  Even up here where it’s too cold to throw open the windows there is a sense of cabin fever.  Something needs to freshen up the internal atmosphere.  It is the time to clean the tools (remember that garden planning) and that goes for magical tools as well.  Perhaps this shift in light is part of my motivation to deal with some “stuff”.

This shift also is a cue to start looking for signs of spring.  A little south of us the end of the month will bring the first bulbs peaking out from under the snow.  Up here that won’t happen for another 2 months, at least in a typical year.  My daughter swears she saw a robin in the yard this last weekend.  Ordinarily it’s not robins, but cardinals and chickadees that brighten our February days.  Red and Black and White, the colors of the Goddess and the sign of her promise to return from the underworld and bring spring back from the land.

Light is returning

BB

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in seasonal, summer, Uncategorized, wicca and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Christy Summerfield

    I want to thank you for everything you’ve written. I just discovered your blog and am now a follower. What I want to say is that I love that you’re so “human”. You remind me of myself in many ways. I don’t feel like you’re a spiritual guru who is living on a spiritual plane I can never hope to reach. You’re sharing your struggles with all the real, human stuff we all struggle with. I don’t know how to communicate adequately how much what you’ve written moves me. I can see things can be accomplished in small steps that may take lots of thought and preparation to take. Like me it seems you have days when you don’t do much but get through the day and that’s OK. In my heart I know that’s how it is but my mind still churns, playing tapes that tell me how much I really should accomplish. Every day I try to get in touch with some gratitude I have for something I have in my life. Today, I am so grateful that I found you. Blessed be.

    • Thank you for “following” and for such a lovely comment. It’s always nice to know that the things I write make an impact. I don’t know that I’m on a particularly “higher” plane spiritually. I’ve just been working at it for a long time. Seems like for all of us the more understanding we get the more there is to learn. Welcome!

      And to all the rest of you, It seems like responding to comments is the thing to do. Now that I’ve been blogging for a while I recognize how often I “check-in”. There’s no reason I can’t jot a quick response. So thank you all for reading and for adding your thoughts!

  2. Christy Summerfield

    Forget to check the little boxes to follow comments & posts so I’m adding another thank you so I can check the little boxes.

  1. Pingback: Stir Crazy | Spiral Visions

  2. Pingback: Hope | Spiral Visions

  3. Pingback: Happy Imbolc | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

