Fog

I got this from Twin cities on Facebook

It’s been so unseasonably wonderfully warm for the last several weeks.  I’ve had the furnace off and the windows open.  I’ve even took Orion on a walk to the park.  But today it’s cold (technically it’s still warm for the season, but the furnace is back on) and rainy and gray.

I have so much to do!  I have laundry, the refrigerator needs to be cleaned out, the dishes need to be done.  I have to work up a web site, I have to write a workshop, I have to write a blog!  All I want to do is curl up in front of a fire with a good book.

Sadly, I did neither.  I get myself into these conflicts between the shoulds and the wants and I forget to check in with what I might NEED.  I suspect that there are some things I could have done with the day that would have made me feel better.  If I had done them, I might have gotten more of the other things done as well.

pollen just waiting to spray into the air

My allergies are bad, the early blooming is throwing tons of pollen into the air and the damp has the molds sporing.  I get thick in the head and I don’t think to do simple things like take an antihistamine or a shot from the inhaler.  It’s even difficult to concentrate on ready when it gets bad.  Days like this I turn on a

Gandalf

computer game and hours go by without me even noticing.

I did manage to deal with the kitty litter this morning so someone in the house is happy with my accomplishments for the day.  Every time I do that it puts my back out.  I get achy and really out of alignment.  Did I stretch or take a pain med?  No.  I did a couple of loads of laundry.  In the basement.  With the mold.

Minnesota magnolia

Maybe I should start a daily practice just asking myself “What do you need right now?”  Right now it seems that what I need is to publish this blog, foggy as it is, and hope to do a little better next week.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on March 26, 2012, in seasonal, Spring, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. You sound completely discombobulated. Allergies can do that. Also, litter box duty. But, I’ll bet writing it out helped pull focus and tomorrow will be better. That’s what I’m sending you anyway.

  2. I’m sorry to hear you have allergies. They really affect my partner, as well. Be gentle and patient with yourself. Be kind—–to you. Take care–I hope you are feeling better soon.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Bonita Blumenauer

    Sounds like you’re finding your way out of the fog. I hope to do so as well…or I may be wearing my snow boots again tonight to work.

    Blessings!
    Bonita

    • Wow. It’s Wednesday evening and I just reread this post. It made me dizzy just reading it. The pollen count is still high, but it’s dryer so the mold count is down. That helps a lot. Wow. Sorry.

  4. Oh yes, those challenges between needs versus wants versus not feeling good versus… It sounds like you have the right question to ask next time this happens. Such an odd spring weather-wise. I wish you well as this week progresses.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

