Stepping Out

I has occurred to me that I am the queen of excuses. 

I had a friend who made a distinction between excuses and reasons.  Reasons are real problems.  Obstacles that have a way around them if we are willing to look.  Excuses are the stories we tell ourselves to avoid looking for solutions.

There was a reason I struggled with last weeks posting.  Anyone who read it can see that.  But I didn’t use an excuse to avoid making the attempt.  That’s writing.  I’ve been working on my self talk about my writing.  I started the blog on purpose, stepping out and being accountable about my writing.

Look what it’s gotten me!  I have been writing once a week since August on the blog.  I’ve made quite a few new on-line friends reading and commenting on their blogs.  I’ve got a book at the publishers.  Yes, occasionally I may produce a blog like last weeks.  Generally though I’m a writer.

crocus peeking color

Now it’s time to take on some exercise and health projects.  I’ve got long and deep excuses for not exercising, not taking care of myself and generally being a sedentary kind of gal.  I’ve been thinking about doing something about this for a long while.  I recognized on my trip to California that I’m not doing myself any favors.

My most recent, consistent excuse has been the weather.  It’s scary to walk outside on the snow and ice, especially when you’ve spent the last 2 years in physical therapy from your last set of falls.   Has anybody noticed me commenting on our unseasonable weather?  We haven’t had snow and ice for almost a month.  It’s time to step out.

I’ve enlisted Orion to help me.  He’s not really keen on exercise either, but if I set him on his way out the door he’s game for anything.  The nice thing about walking with Orion is that I move slower.  When I walk with him I can go farther than when I walk on my own.

Orion says his wheelchair is built for speed.

The first time I made him take a walk with me I packed a chair on the back of his wheelchair, just in case.  One of my fears is that I’ll get out and not be able to get back.  Turns out I made it a lot further than I thought I could!  In part because we went slowly, but also just because I had that reassurance that I could stop if I needed to.

Getting out the door for a walk is pleasant, but it’s not always easy.  The pollen count is high, the days are busy and sometimes there really isn’t time.  On the other hand when we do go out I sleep better, feel better and eat a lot less.  I even went out by myself when Orion was at his Dad’s on Sunday!

The third thing that really needs to happen is stepping out socially.  It’s been two years since I kicked out my last husband and it’s time to come out of the cave.  Because I have Orion in tow, this does get to be a little complicated.  Often it’s just easier to stay home than to pack everything up and then deal with accessibility issues in a strange place.  However, it needs to happen.

Waiting for the music to start

We had the opportunity to go to a CD release party last weekend.  The venue was convenient and accessible.  The crowd were mostly people we know and who adore Orion.  It was going to be after dinner so maybe we could avoid eating the junk food.  We had a blast!  Orion is still talking about it to anyone who will listen.  It was great to catch up with some of the folks we haven’t seen for months.  The music was good too.

I’ve also signed us up for a couple of “meet-ups”.  Local groups with a common interest.  The one’s I signed up for are a tour of a local Hindu Temple and a discussion of Islamic women in art.  Orion has a strong interest in East Indian culture (he speaks Hindi and Urdu).  I have a strong interest in religion in culture.  These meet-ups seemed like a good match for both of us.

Great time to be "Stepping Out!"

So I’m stepping out.  I may have Orion in tow, but he’s a fun and enthusiastic companion.  How are you challenging yourself in the next months?

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Bio, Spring, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Thank you. I’ve been struggling with some of this myself.

  2. Great question. I don’t know if I’m challenging myself enough. I need to do better. I need to do more–especially in the writing department. Good for you for stepping out and taking charge.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Good for you and Orion! Betty, our chubby Corgi, and I need to start evening walks, too.

    I’ve challenged myself to get ready for the farmers market with plenty of aprons and tutus in stock. All handmade, all unique. So far, so good.

  4. Well, I can’t comment on your relative nobility in the hierarchy of excusees. I think there are plenty of others who might challenge your crown. But it is interesting that daily mild exercise is pretty much universally acknowledged as very beneficial, yet so many of us can’t manage to make it happen. Perhaps we need to implement a spiritual aspect. A geas of exercise.

    • Adding a spiritual aspect does seem to help. I think I’d tend to fight a geas. I wouldn’t be successful of course, but I’ve seen those post surgery PT machines and the idea of exercise in spite of myself is not appealing.

  5. Hi Lisa! I like your challenge to Step Out. Thinking about the ways I might need to step out, the way I might be using the Queen of Excuses. Hmmm….part of me thinks that I need to step IN. To make a commitment to blog less…OK, thank you, will think about this a little more to see where it leads. Thanks for the inspiration! Inspiration is always good, isn’t it? 🙂

    • Glad you found it inspiring. Especially with the nursing you’ve been doing you probably need to be kind to yourself. If Kathy could have 8 hours to do whatever she wanted would it be blogging?

      • What a good question, Lisa. A very good question. Some days the answer to that is a definitive YES! But truly, my one and only desire is to do what Spirit wants me to do…what I want to do, so much, ever so much, is to merge 100% with the Divine. But that is tricky, tricky, tricky. Thank you for prompting more thought about this. Turning off the computer to go meditate now…

Please feel free to leave a comment!

