Time

Between the holiday and the heat I feel like I’ve lost a week.  Those of you who follow me regularly will have noticed that I didn’t get this weeks blog posted on Monday.  It’s not that I didn’t have anything to say.  It’s just that I didn’t feel like it.   Monday after a holiday is difficult, because in a lot of cases it’s still a holiday.  The virtues of living in America where everything is adjusted to accommodate the corporate culture.

With the 4th falling mid-week the holiday weekend was kind of neither and both.  There were fireworks, public and private, on both weekends.  There was the day off in the middle of the week.  There was unbearable heat across most of the country.

highs for 7/4/2012

I’ve never moved out of Minnesota for a reason.  I don’t do well in the heat.  Sure, when we have heat it’s especially horrible because of the humidity.  Even at its worst a Minnesota heat wave is not July in Florida!  In the southwest the heat is supposed to be more bearable because it’s dry.  It’s true.   85 degrees is almost still pleasant in the southwest.  However, anything more than 90 is pretty horrible for me regardless.

That midweek vacation day was cause for me to join some friends for an overnight in the woods.  A little spiritual retreat to connect with friends and nature.  We weren’t really roughing it.  We stayed at a friends home.  They have a lovely secluded spot a couple of hours out of the Twin Cities and across the Minnesota/Wisconsin state line.

Usually it’s delightful to be away from the noise of the city and out of cell phone range for a day or two.  Usually the lack of air conditioning is compensated for by the shade of the trees and the fresh breezes.  Not this time. It was just plain too hot!  It was too hot to walk down to the creek to cool off.  It was too hot to dig out the camera to take photos.  It was too hot to think.  When the time came to get back into the car and head home I was just a puddle of goo.

This is actually late July or early August of 09, when it was MUCH cooler. Some of the same friends though.

Thankfully my car does have working air conditioning.  I felt like I’d “woken up” about an hour into the drive home with the fan on full blast.  Of course it didn’t hurt that about then I hit the traffic delayed by city fireworks as people looked for parking and good seats.

It was surreal driving home with an occasional distraction of blasts of color and light in the distance.  It would have been fun to have just been the passenger.  Then I would have been able to watch the fireworks without having to pay attention to the road.

This was one of those times when I needed a vacation to recover from my vacation.  Because I don’t really get one (it’s a mom thing) it takes a little longer to reorient and recover.  So I feel like I’ve lost time.  I should somehow have almost another week before this blog is due.  It can’t possibly be Monday already.  Or Tuesday.  Or whatever day I finally get around to posting this.

Do you find time a little harder to keep track of in the summer?  When you take a vacation?  When you put excessive demands on your body?

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Bio, spiritual and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Being stuck amongst that “corporate culture” you speak of, it has become quite striking to me how business doesn’t really take much of a pause for anything these days.

    It’s been over 2 years since I had more than 3 consecutive days off. Even then, I was slave to my electronic “connection devices” and had to attend to all sorts of goings on from Italy.

    I remember being a kid and the family getting away for a week at a time a few times each year.

    “Time” has become a commodity for most of us. We can provide you with an estimate of what “my time is worth” based on our role within the corporate world. I don’t recall my parents generation ever talking about such things (not that I was inclined to eaves-drop on such conversations at 9 years old).

    For me, a weekend where I don’t have to attend to “work” is a blessing. My husband jokes that I can’t go 24 hours without slipping off to the building where I work. I’m envious of those who seem to be able to detach and take “time off” for themselves.

    I don’t have children, but I would consider my business to be my surrogate child. I can never stray too far from it; Never get much “time” away from it. Things tend to unravel quickly in the absence of my presence.

    Well, I’m out of “time”….boss is giving me the “stink-eye”

    • Bryan, you made me laugh and given the week I’ve been having I needed that. Tell your boss that you need a big vacation to come up here before the snow flies. And bring Jay!

  2. I know what you mean about the heat. We had close to 10 days in a row of 100+ degrees, and we haven’t had a single day above 100 since 2005. Heat totally drains and disorients me, as well. I hate it. Sorry to hear it affects you also.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Yep, it’s awful when that southern heat gets this far north! Arghghgh….had to function sometimes. I know what you mean about sometimes being hard to recover from vacations. I’ve had that happen twice this year. So which one is you in the photo? Looks like you had fun!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

