Migration

Hints of fall color on the sumac

Labor Day has so many meanings, but it always seems to signal the end of summer.  The fall migration has started.  We may have been ignoring it for the last few weeks, but once Labor Day has passed, the move is inevitable.

It’s odd this shift into an autumnal attitude.  The weather is still hot, the air full of allergens and the days are still (for a few weeks more) longer than the nights.  I suspect some of it is living far enough north that the threat of winter is a little more urgent.  We’ve had some pretty crazy weather the past few years, but I remember the Halloween blizzard – over 20″ of snow Oct 31-Nov 1.  I know that in Minnesota, Trick or Treating involves coats over or under the costumes most years.

Mom’s tomatoes are nearly done

I also think some of it is cultural.  I don’t have anyone in household starting school this fall.  Still, there is something in my world view that says things begin at this time of year.  It’s always been a good time for me to start new projects.  Diets and exercise that I start in the fall have a greater chance of success.  My best relationship memories, all the way back to high school, involve walking through the fallen leaves.

Storing up for the winter

The geese won’t really start moving until we get closer to frost.  There is an increase in food gathering, but hibernation is a Thanksgiving event.  Still the migration has started.  The hummingbirds, first to go, are  diminished in their ranks.  Even our state bird, the loon, makes its way to warmer climates.

Ready for the school migration.

We may no longer be a migratory people, but we migrate in our habits.  We stop planning the backyard BBQ’s and start planning the tail-gating parties.   We run the winter coats to the cleaners and send the children back to their regularly scheduled days.  Our diets begin to shift from corn on the cob and melons to squashes and apples.  The air conditioner may still run during the day, but the windows are open at night, or even closed to keep the warmth in against the evening breezes.

Only one hummingbird where 20 used to be common.

Is there a migration in your life this fall?

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Bio, fall, seasonal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. YOu are SO right that we migrate in our habits. I hadn’t even thought of that. I have some migration in my life at the moment. I’ve emailed a few blog friends whose email addresses I have, but I’m being pursued by a production company that wants me to tell my dad’s story on a new reality tv show. This has kept me crazy busy for the last week. Don’t know that it will happen. But I haven’t wanted to write about it on my blog, just in case it doesn’t. At any rate, that’s the other thing that has kept me away. Miss you!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. We saw geese on the bay yesterday. They weren’t flying south, but we swear they were swimming south. lol! I am feeling a migration of habit because of the new school year starting. Trying to determine my hours this year, how to start the mornings, etc. Should have done this last week except Christopher was here. Thoughtful lovely blog, Lisa.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

