Batteries

Just a little “puffy” around the eyes.

The weather has been delightful, sunny and not too hot.  The winds have been breezy and busily tossing all the dust and other allergens into the air.  I have been popping pills and dropping eye drops in my eyes.  I look like I have pink eye without the eye drops.  The dark circles make me look like I haven’t slept in weeks.  It’s really just the fall allergies.

I don’t feel bad.  I just don’t feel good.  It’s like my batteries are running low.  Nothing is moving quite as quickly as I would like.  I can’t work up the level of enthusiasm for a project that is required to actually get to it.  I find myself losing hours sipping on tea and scratching at my face.  My reading is even slow, given the condition of my eyes I suppose that’s not surprising.

Not that I haven’t been busy!  I did a podcast (one of these day’s I’ll figure out how to put links into this blog) for the Priestess Show.  The topic was disabilities and the show is archived at paganstonight.com.  I’ll be on again later this month as we will continue to discuss the topic.

old dead batteries

Orion and I spent all afternoon Saturday in Minnehaha Park visiting our friends at Pagan Pride.  I’d be writing about that, but it’s not just my batteries that are low.  I forgot to pack an extra set for the camera.  It’s extremely frustrating when I go out specifically to take pictures for a blog I’m writing in my head only to find the camera doesn’t work.  You’d think I’d learn to check.

Afterwards we decided to go out to eat at the restaurant where Karina (my daughter) is working as a waitress.  It was really nice to see her and the food was good.  Fat Lorenzo’s is an Italian restaurant.  All kinds of cheese and pasta.  I even had a beer.  Of course their speciality is the gelato.  You’d think that I might pay attention to food that could aggravate my allergies when they act up?  Why, that would be like actually checking the batteries in my camera.  It never seems to occur to me when it matters.

 

 

 

Orion and the Gelato cooler at Fat Lorenzo’s

Some of the things I do when my batteries are low:

reading (although when it’s the eyes that itch that’s a little tough)

Sipping hot tea (The Republic of Tea makes a green tea honey & ginseng that’s particularly nurturing)

Making myself GET OUT even if it’s just to get groceries (of course a day in the park could be considered excessive)

Taking a long bath (The library doesn’t appreciate it when their books join me in the tub)

Meditation (Distinct from going back to bed, which I also do occasionally but I find mediation to be more productive)

Cooking something I REALLY want (I’ve been thinking about crab bisque, but there’s that darn dairy again)

What do you do when your batteries run low?

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Bio, fall, seasonal, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh, Lisa, hope you’re feeling more energetic soon. I take a nap or go to bed and read. I really love the latter!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. When I’m feeling like that, I like to curl up with a good book and lose myself in it for a few hours, or else indulge in some chocolate treat. I also like to dine outside with some friends or maybe go to catch a movie, these things always help. Oh, and visits to bookshops always end up making me feel considerably better!

    I hope you feel better. Lethargy is not fun. =[

  3. Thx for your post, I really enjoy your blog. Long time lurker, first time commenter, you know the drill. I tried to share this one time before, I don’t think it posted correctly…hopefully it will this time!

  4. Lisa, I read this several days ago but was distracted and didn’t comment. Hope your batteries are recharged now. Those days are so tough. The reading and hot baths and good food–all sound great. Hugs.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

