Pain

I am late with my post this week.

Getting ready to present my workshop. All that “stuff” on the table I was carrying around all day – 15 extra pounds makes a difference!

I spent this last weekend in Mankato Minnesota at the University Women’s Studies sponsored Women and Spirituality Conference.  This event has been ongoing annually for 31 years.  I’ve attended many times and have frequently presented workshops on various aspects of spiritual practice.  Each year my experience is different.  Sometimes I’m moved by a ritual or by the keynote speaker.  Sometimes I’m all business, presenting my workshops and getting out.

The weekend was what I was hoping to write about for my Monday blog.  I had a great time.   I met some amazing women.  I got to catch up with old friends.  I presented my workshop twice and got lots of positive feedback.  I love this workshop.  It’s called “Daily Practice Sucks!”   People come in struggling with daily practice.  They say they don’t have any.  They leave with a confidence saying “I have a daily practice.”  It’s incredibly rewarding and humbling to be able to facilitate this kind of transformation.

The weather for the weekend was perfect.  It was high 60’s-low 70’s perfect fall weather, even on the day there was a hint of dampness in the air.  It was great to be able to walk outside between the buildings on the University of Mankato campus.  I walked quite a bit and I sat quite a bit and there is the problem.

“Ember’s Bait Shop” She was selling aprons (like the one I’m wearing) and tutu’s and let me sit when I couldn’t stand any more as long as I’d pass out her cards.

I have some significant chronic pain issues, currently centering on degenerating discs in my low back.  Walking too much, especially in dress up shoes, especially carrying “stuff” is really not good for me.   Sitting too long in uncomfortable chairs with my feet on the floor (rather than elevated) is also not really good for me.  Spending hours driving in the car (even with the heated seat, which helps more than you can imagine) is not good for me.

By Sunday afternoon the drive home was done with grinding teeth and drifting attention.  There are days when I really shouldn’t drive.  Sunday was probably one of them.  When I got home I brought in my purse and a wheel of cheese.  I took a long hot bath and brought my clothes in from the car.  I took a nap and brought in my bag of promotional materials for the book. (Manifest Divinity available at Amazon.com)  I left everything else in the car. I went to bed as soon as I could and was up every few hours to refresh my pain meds.

I got to visit my nephew and his wife who live in Mankato. Great Aunt time! Wouldn’t trade it for the world even if it did set my back to spasming!

Monday morning it was all I could do to get Orion out the door.  I had tears in my eyes, not because I was crying but because my body needed to react to the strain I was putting it through.  As soon as he was gone I went back to bed and slept until half an hour before he was due home.  I NEVER do that.  Pain is exhausting!

I sat down three times to write my blog.  I even got my photos from the weekend onto my computer.  But I couldn’t concentrate.  You’ve seen how my literary skills deteriorate on my “bad” days.  Yesterday I couldn’t write a paragraph.

I didn’t just sit and sleep.  I finished unpacking the car.  I took Orion to the grocery store (I needed stuff for his lunch).  I took things very slowly and asked for help.  I put the last of the groceries away this morning.  (It’s no problem leaving the box of kitchen garbage bags out overnight.)

They say that “motion is the lotion for the joints” and apparently it’s true because I am doing better today.  It’s a balancing act between not enough movement and too much.   The weekend was both.  Yesterday was apparently just right.

So you don’t really get a blog about my amazing weekend – I really did have a great time.  You don’t get a blog on Monday.  But you get a blog with much gratitude for feeling up to writing it.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on October 16, 2012, in Bio, grattitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. In spite of it all, it sounds like a wonderful weekend! Especially the little one – so cute.

  2. Great to hear from you, Lisa! I hate that you have so many issues with pain, but your weekend DOES sound amazing. Be well, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. First, I hope you are feeling better, Lisa. It’s no fun to be in pain. Second, I’ve been to that weekend in Mankato! It was years ago, and I had a blast attending the different conferences. Just think–we may have passed one another in the hallway. I’ve often thought about driving back because it was so much fun, but have never managed it, yet. How cool to hear that you teach a workshop. Way to go!

    • The idea that somewhere in the past we may have run across each other makes me smile. You had too much on your plate to even consider coming this year! It would be lovely to plan for next……. (hint)

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your issues with chronic pain. That’s enough to stifle the creativity in the best writer in the world. Hope it gets back under control soon and love the happy looking pictures – even if it was laughter through the aches and pains.

    • chronic pain is dealt with two ways. I prefer not to be generally whiney. Sometimes that makes it hard for folks around me to recognize how bad I’m hurting, but I get to do more in the long run.

  1. Pingback: Recovering | Spiral Visions

  2. Pingback: Crafting | Spiral Visions

  3. Pingback: Resolve | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

