Nothing

Photo on 1-27-13 at 5.27 PMI skipped posting last week.  I didn’t have a particularly good reason.  I just didn’t feel like it.  Oh, there was a topic I considered, took some notes down.  I just didn’t want to do it.  Didn’t want to take pictures or dig out old photos.  Didn’t want to be esoteric or write another woe is me post.  Just didn’t want to.

Some of my blogger friends take sabbaticals from their blogs.  They may be gone for a few days or a few weeks depending on how the mood strikes them.  I’d like to think it was a sabbatical, but I’m not sure that’s true.

I think it was a temper tantrum.  That doesn’t sound very “spiritually evolved” does it?  I guess we all have our moments.

I felt like a pouty kid most of last week.  I made chocolate chip cookies. (Well, they didn’t exactly turn out like cookies but the chocolate chip cookie roll-ups I ended up with were tasty all the same.)  I may have eaten the entire batch over the course of the last week all by myself.

I didn’t take a total break from writing.  I posted a review or two on LisaSpiralReads.   I commented on a few blogs.  I wrote feedback on a ritual.  I did my morning pages.  I just didn’t write my blog.  My pouting can’t be considered a bid for attention since there is no one here but me and Orion and I didn’t expect him to notice.  And with blogging it’s writing that gets comments, not not writing!

I didn’t exactly do nothing.  Over the course of the week I’ve seen 3 doctors (two of mine one of Orion’s), managed to get the laundry through the wash, dealt with Orion getting his antibiotics back at his day program, talked through an Imbolc ritual, held a class, done some meditation work, played cards with friends and gotten dinner on the table every night.   I also spent a lot of the time being a zombie in front of the tv or playing video games.Photo on 1-27-13 at 5.29 PM

Like most temper tantrums by the time I got to the end of it I began to think this was harder on me than writing the blog would have been.  Maybe it was.  Still, sometimes I just need a good pout.  At least I don’t feel like I need a vacation from my vacation.

I can’t say I’m rested and rejuvenated, but I am ready to face the world again.  So today a blog about Nothing.

Do you ever find yourself taking an unscheduled time out?  Have a temper tantrum?  Pout just for the sake of pouting?

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on January 28, 2013, in Bio, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I hate to quote movies, especially bad movies, but Cicely Tyson once cited the line “Peace! Be Still!” She was quieting someone by interrupting them loudly and abruptly.

    I will sometimes cite that line in my head when I get to the self-pity part, or just need an attitude adjustment. It doesn’t motivate me to do anything, but it does stop the flow of negative mental garbage that sometimes is abundant. I probably am still about as likely as not to pout just a little, but sometimes just putting a “foot-down” and not allowing myself to wallow, hastens my return to my normal, delightful self.

  2. I wouldn’t say this was a blog about *nothing*! There’s a lot here. It was probably good to take a break. Perhaps a good old temper tantrum serves to get the energy rolling again. Says the eternal optimist.

  3. I think it’s quite alright to have a good pout some time. Better than throwing one’s toys out of the cot. Thank you for popping in on Flat Kathy’s new blog. 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment!

