Whimsy

winter feast

winter feast

My blogging friend Kathy at Lake Superior Spirit occasionally delights us with whimsical photography.  She’s been taking photos of things like Santas and Snowmen.  She says I could do it to.  All it takes is finding something colorful or that will stand out against the white at going for it.  So I indulged myself in a day of whimsy.

Whimsy is important for spiritual work.  It’s so easy to get to taking ourselves too seriously.  The silly and absurd help snap us out of that in the most gentle and joyful way.

plates and shadows

plates and shadows

I found it really interesting to note that most of the things in my house that are colorful are textiles, which I hesitate to drag out into the snow.  I also noticed that my fall back for almost anything is my kitchen.

Hippo in the pond

Hippo in the pond

There is something magical about the whimsical.  It not only kicks us out of our seriousness, but also opens us up to the possible.

Pink Hippopotamus

Pink Hippopotamus

If Kathy’s Santas and Snowmen can march through the north woods,  If a pink hippopotamus can frolic in a frozen pond, then what other magical sights await us?

When you take a close look at the prayer on my prayer beads you’ll see that one of the repeating lines is I find joy and awe in the world around me.  Followed on the next bead by I am amazed.

lighting the tracks

lighting the tracks

 I need the reminder to look for the amazing, the wondrous and the whimsical.  When I do look I find it all around me.

Blessed Be.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Bio, magic, spiritual, summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Oh I LOVE this! I am so glad that you played, Lisa!! I like all the pics, but my favorite is the plates. They look so symmetrical there in the snow. Glad you had fun, and thanks for the mention in your blog. Big smile!

  2. How nice that you took the time to play!

  3. How cool, Lisa. I’ve been so out of the loop recently, I didn’t even realize Kathy was doing this. However, I am ALL about whimsy! Suppose I express it most in my art. I’d try this here, but all of our snow melted yesterday. Hope you have a wonderful week, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  4. How creative! Love the plates on edge in the snow and the hippo! I think the Northeast has enough snow to bury a refrigerator.

    • I’ve seen facebook photos of people opening their front doors and carving shelves out of the snow to hold their beer. Glad you enjoyed the photo’s. Have you seen Kathy’s? She’s the creative genius and my inspiration.

  5. Lovin the hippo in the snow.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

