Spells

100_4243I was on Pagan’s Tonight Blog Talk Radio, The Priestess Show last Friday and we were talking about spells.  Somewhere doing the interview I promised to write more about spell work on my Monday blog.  So here goes.

One of the most interesting things that I got out of talking with Stephanie Neal was the idea that we are the spell.  That everything we do has an effect, an impact.  That all of our words, our thoughts and our actions move out into the world and interact with it for good or ill.  This idea is not new to me, but thinking of it as a spell is.

We are the spell we put into the world.  What we send out grows like a seed.  What comes back are the fruits of our spell.  We are the spell we put into the world. – It ought to be some kind of a chant, don’t you think?100_3605

That reminder, that focus of our intention is the core of spell work for me.  I know that when I focus my intention and truly put my desires out I have seen miracles.  I also know that the thing most likely to interfere with that process is me.  I am extraordinarily talented at getting in my own way, I think most of us are on occasion.

I talked about that in the interview as well.  That I find spells useful, as a recipe to get out of my own way.  Doing a spell sort of bypasses that whole debate about whether or not I’m worthy of what I ask for.  Following a recipe avoids that annoying little judgmental voice in my head.  “You’re just  being greedy.”   “What would you do with that if you got it anyway?”  “Don’t you think you’re getting ahead of yourself?”  “Why should you get that?  You don’t deserve it.  You haven’t worked enough for it.”

If my core belief is that love is pure energy; That it is abundant and ever renewing;  That love is something that grows when it is used; there is no call for that kind of judgment.  There is so much out there bigger than I am.  There is so much out there with a wider vision, a broader perspective on the arc of my life that I have.  What do I know about what I might and might not be able to achieve if I plant that seed of desire?  We are the spell we put into the world…..

We touched a little bit in the interview on timing.  We talked about the people who consult the astrology charts and have to do their workings in the proper timeframe with the exact ingredients with all the right associations.  Not to dismiss that process because all those things do help.  The more meaning built into what we are doing the more likely we are to succeed.  Doesn’t that apply to everything?

What we didn’t talk about is that space before taking an action.  That space where we do a divination or sit in meditation to find if doing a spell is what we really need.  When I said sometimes the best spell is a shot of scotch and stepping up to the plate I really did mean sometimes just sucking it up and taking direct action is better that crafting a spell.  Think about it this way.  If you are looking for a job you can do a spell to make a job fall into your lap.   Or you can get your resume together and start stopping in at businesses and making phone calls.   Which is more effective?  Asking the Universe for a job or asking a potential employer?

But sometimes we need both.  Sometimes doing the spell is what we need to step into that interview process with the confidence that you deserve a job.  Sometimes doing the spell is what allows us to look “outside the box”, potentially applying in a different field or asking for the promotion to a different department.  But it doesn’t work the other way around.  Just doing the spell and not doing the legwork isn’t getting us anywhere.  The best spell is sometimes BEING the spell we put out into the world.

tnI want to be a successful author.  I want to promote and sell my book, Manifest Divinity.  So when I crafted the prosperity spell I performed on the air I took a look at all of those things.  How do I get in my own way?   I need to allow my passion to be seen rather than “hiding my light under a bushel.”   I need to take the opportunities I’m given to speak about my work.  I want to make sure that what I am putting into the world is growing energy, benefiting others as it benefits me.  I looked at what would it take for me to believe in that kind of abundance as it applied to my own prosperity.

Here is the text of the spell I did on the air:

Spirits of the North I call to you and ask your aid in increasing my prosperity.  May there be increase in sales of my book as a symbol of increased prosperity.

Spirits of the East I call to you and ask your aid in increasing my prosperity.  May there be increase in my ability to promote myself and my work, especially my book.

Spirits of the South I call to you and ask your aid in increasing my prosperity.  May there be increase in my efforts to share my passion for the book I’ve written.

Spirits of the West I call to you and ask your aid in increasing my prosperity.  May there be increase in the flow and exchange that what prospers me prospers others.

Spirits of the North I call to you and ask your aid in increasing my prosperity.  May there be increase in sales of my book as a symbol of increased prosperity.

I place this dime within the circle of elements.  As like attracts like so may I see more money coming into my accounts.

I light this candle to charge this spell.  While it burns may the gifts of the elements work within me.  May this spell flourish and bring bounteous fruition by the time the flame burns out.100_4237

I ask the blessing of the Lord and Lady upon my work and upon this working.

As I will

So Mote It Be

We did the show on Friday night.  Sunday I got an email from my publisher (Immanion Press) with the contract for a poem I wrote to be included in an upcoming anthology on Pagans and Disability.  This is a piece I submitted almost a year ago.  Go figure.

We are the spell we put into the world.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on March 4, 2013, in Bio, magic, spiritual, spirituality, Uncategorized, wicca and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love the idea that our actions and beliefs are the spell. We can create a new destiny or not. Nice.

  2. Truly love that idea that we are the spell that goes out into the world. What a unique and interesting way of looking at spells. Also really happy for you that you were on the radio. How cool is that? Have been thinking a lot lately about intention and attention. Where we place our attention is so important, yet it also seems that we can squander that attention so easily on things that aren’t so important to us. Wishing you the fulfillment of all your dreams. Feeling your spell spiraling out into the Universe.

  3. I love synchronicity in spell-working – it is proof to me that that spells, when you put honour, respect and integrity into them, DO work 🙂
    And you are so right – you can do a spell, but if you yourself don’t put any effort into your life, then not much is going to happen!
    A lovely post – thank you.
    Blessings be

Please feel free to leave a comment!

