Daylight Savings

It really doesn't happen to everyone!

It really doesn’t happen to everyone!

Dragging through Daylight Savings in the spring is a national pastime.  The local coffee shop offers an extra depth charge of espresso just to help get through that first Monday.  There are incidents of people showing up late (or arriving unexpectedly early) to classes and appointments.

Then there is the changing of the clocks.  People in my generation seem to have to relearn how to reset the DVR every 6 months, like it’s the first time.  My parents will wait until one of the Grandchildren show up and just add the hour in their heads.  Then there’s the clock that we, ooops, forgot to change.  Mine is usually the one in the car, or the watch I rarely wear, or the clock that I have in my bedroom that I can see (which is not my alarm clock).

How does this work again?

How does this work again?

I can’t decide if the world of satellite connection makes this easier or harder.  My phone clock changes automatically (at the discretion of the service I use.)  My TV timer changes automatically (which means I don’t miss the shows I program).  I just have an old-fashioned DVD/VCR attached with the clock that I actually use that needs changing.  Even my alarm clock (because I use my iPad) switches automatically to the correct time.  So why do I have to change everything else by hand?

At least the thermostat has a button!

At least the thermostat has a button!

Daylight Savings Time did not take me by surprise this year.  I saw all the meme’s on Facebook.  I even reminded my daughter to change her clocks.  Somehow I never internalized that this all applied to me as well.  Sunday morning the alarm went off (on the automatically changing iPod) and I looked at the clock and it wasn’t right.  That late night that Sunday morning would make up for was much shorter than I’d intended.

Silly me I over booked my Daylight Savings Sunday.  Sunday is my “day off”.  I get Orion up and dressed and then he goes off for the day with his father returning in time for bed.  (You see that my “day off ” isn’t quite a freebie, but Orion’s Dad may or may not be on time and, unlike the weekday bus,  he’ll wait if Orion’s not quite ready.)  This Sunday I had a luncheon date and a class to teach – AT MY HOUSE.

Now I am not a great housekeeper.  Honestly, I’m not even a fair housekeeper.  People coming over requires a certain amount of attention.  Making this even harder,  I’d shorted myself time to “pick up” by having the lunch date.  Then it was Daylight Savings Time on top of it.  What was I thinking?  That somehow it didn’t apply to me?

Orion at Dinner.  He chose a Brazilian Restaurant.

Orion at Dinner. He chose a Brazilian Restaurant.

Saturday is our “sleep in” day.  It’s a lazy day for Orion and I.  We’ll sometimes go out in the afternoon and run errands.  We’ll often catch dinner via pizza delivery or pick up something on the way home.  It’s an easy day with no reason to go out.  This Saturday I decided to go to the movies after errands.  Errands, Dinner, then the movie means a late night.  Orion’s usually to bed by 9:00 and reprimanding me to do the same.  (I never do.)  With a 7pm movie that’s not going to happen.  It’s a late night.  (And a short one but perhaps Daylight Savings Time doesn’t apply to me?)

Brazilian means musical accompaniment.

Brazilian means musical accompaniment.

Doing a lot of in and out of the car with Orion and the Wheelchair is one of those little parts of my day that aggravate my back.  Saturday wasn’t too bad.  I was having a good day.  I took it slow.  Sure it was cold and rainy, yes there was a lot of walking associated with those errands, and parking, and standing in line at the movie theater.  My back acting up will keep me up later at night.  Sure it makes me more tired, but also less comfortable and ready for bed.  I look for distractions which make it easier to lose track of time.

Two for Skyfall please.

Two for Skyfall please.

Going to bed with my back acting up I either take the heavy duty meds and am a little groggy in the morning or I just don’t sleep well and need a little longer to feel rested.  I opted for the later because, surely, Daylight Savings Time doesn’t apply to me?

We got through Sunday.  Most of the clocks are changed.  The batteries in the smoke alarms?  I would have picked some up on Saturday if I’d thought that Daylight Savings Time applied to me.  🙂

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Bio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The first thing that popped into my mind was, “Happy Daylight Savings time!” but that’s kinda a lame comment. So sorry about your back acting up. Did enjoy reading about the clock-setting and the different generational responses to it. We had to call our young fisherboy the night before and remind him & his mom about springing forward. We didn’t want to wait an extra hour…

  2. I detest the messing around with the clocks, and just wish we could decide on a permanent time and leave it that way. And I’m always sleepy and tired and grumpy for about a week, which makes me feel sorry for people with small children who have to renegotiate bed times. Yikes!

  3. I’m still cranky that DST was expanded to start earlier and continue later. However, because of that, I was talking about DST at work beginning in early February, LOL! We Capricorns may not like the change, but we start planning (and complaining about it) early!

  4. You made think of when our clocks change here and we move into BST British Summer Time, i just wait until it is said on The News on the BBC and then I know. Interesting post and blog.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

