100

Many of my earliest image postings were clip art.

Many of my earliest image postings were clip art.

This is my 100th post on this blog!  That may not seem like such a big deal, especially for those bloggers who are writing something every day.  But I’m posting once a week, which means it’s been almost two years of posting on WordPress.  I’ve made mistakes and I’ve had plenty of opportunities to learn.

I still have to get a handle on the whole writing process thing.  I find myself making amazing misspellings and bad uses of there’s and it’s ( inevitably pointed out to me by my readers).  I know how to use these words, but apparently my fingers don’t care when I type.  I don’t always catch it in editing, especially when I’m a little sleepy or rushed to hit ‘publish’.  I’ve had to learn the discipline of meeting the weekly commitment .  (Sometimes a day late, but still….)  I’ve worked hard at learning to be open and authentic both with the personal posts and when I am posting about a larger event.

One of my most popular posts was inspired by a book I read about Great Apes.

One of my most popular posts was inspired by a book I read about Great Apes.

I’ve been disappointed in my expectations.  Who knew that hundreds, no thousands of readers who would love this blog are having so much trouble finding it?  🙂   I’ve never been Freshly Pressed.  I haven’t gotten a blogging award.  Some of my friends, the one’s who ask “what’s new with you?” are clearly not even checking in.  My Mom doesn’t read my blog! (But then, she doesn’t have a computer so I suppose that’s to be expected isn’t it.)

I’ve learned to be a bit more reasonable about expectations.  Now I write as much for myself as anything and am delighted when others find something useful, or inspiring, or entertaining in what I have to say.  I recognize that winning those blogging awards often requires things like writing a post with 24 things about yourself – one for each letter of the alphabet.  I’m grateful to have avoided that.  As for freshly pressed, on the few occasions when I’ve checked “this weeks list” I’ve not been impressed.  It seems that photography blogs are popular and occasionally a humor piece.  I’m delighted when my blogging buddies make the list, but even they seem confounded by the selection process.

The post that generated the most comments (July 2012) was about Trolls

The post that generated the most comments (July 2012) was about Trolls

There’s another thing I’ve learned.  I really can have friends on the internet who I’ve never met, but feel I’ve truly gotten to know. The blogs I tend to read are like mine, a little personal, a little day to day, observations and perspectives on life.  I’ve found several “blogging buddies” who I’m sure would be delightful to spend time with in the real world as well as on-line.  Someday I may just  drop in on them.  (Well, there would be discussion and planning and schedule checking and making arrangements for Orion, but you know what I mean.)

So thank you for going on this journey with me.  I hope you will continue to enjoy my posts and will share with your friends.  Who knows.  Those thousands of potential readers may find me yet!

The post that I continue to get feedback on (not always in this forum) is my post on Prayer Beads.

The post that I continue to get feedback on (not always in this forum) is my post on Prayer Beads.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on June 10, 2013, in Bio, grattitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I think a post a week is about perfect. One a day is too much. I’ve tried it and it exhausts me, my creativity, and my readers. You have a great blog. It is gives us so many new insights. Congratulations on reaching this milestone.

  2. Congratulations on 100 blog posts! I can’t always read every week as your blog is published, but I always look forward to catching up.

  3. Thank you for continuing to post–and congratulations about your anniversary! Your blog feels nice and steady and interesting and thoughtful. That’s what I like about once-a-week blogs. There feels like fresh air between posts. It is challenging, sometimes, to gear down expectations. I used to be heartbroken when friends & family didn’t read my blog. It felt like they didn’t care. Have let a lot of that go all these years later, but sometimes still feel sad. You are right that it’s valuable to write for ourselves as much as for others. Thank you, Lisa.

  4. Blogging is interesting. I know a few readers told me they aren’t receiving my publications via email. I don’t know if WordPress is conspiring against me or what. As for the misspellings, I’d never tell you they aren’t right, and maybe I’m wrong for that, but I know you know what you mean. It’s happens. My mom reads my blog and likes Beatrice more than me and Beatrice isn’t a real person. I’m dismayed that would be her preference.

    As for being freshly pressed, it works in this business like others. It’s all about who you know. It’s not us, it’s them.

    • Thanks. I appreciate your understanding about the spelling. I’m very fond of Beatrice as well, mostly because she’s outrageous and fearless. But when you post as yourself you are more thoughtful and I like that too.

  5. Congrats on your milestone! I think 100 posts is a huge deal, and that posting once a week is the only reasonable approach to blogging. Otherwise it consumes your life. I’ve been there.

    Sara and I have finally moved into our long-term rental here in Ecuador, and furniture arrived over the weekend. Now we have some place to sit. Maybe that means I’ll be able to write again.

    We’d love you to drop in on us here in Ecuador, Lisa!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  6. A bit belated, but congrats on reaching 100 posts! That’s quite an achievement. 😀

  7. Congratulations, Lisa. 100 is a huge milestone! I love that photo of the troll. I used to have at least a dozen back when they were all the rage. Way before the Cabbage Patch rage. And those prayer beads are absolutely beautiful! I know what you mean about blogging buddies. I too, never thought I’d be making so many nice friends when I started blogging. It’s been the icing on the cake!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

