Late

I feel like the white rabbit this week.  I’m late, I’m late.   Some of it I suppose is doing “catch up” now that the electricity is back on.  I am thrilled to have the laundry done.  That I was already a little behind when the power went out and by the time it came back on I was digging for socks should tell you that it took me a bit to get through it all.

I didn’t lose any of the food from the deep freeze, which I’m very grateful about.  I also didn’t go to the grocery store (what was the point) so there was no milk, no eggs, no lettuce, no vegetables, you understand that this might pose a problem don’t you?

I had things to do, places to go.  I made arrangements for Orion to go to his father’s for the weekend.  (They had a great time and actually did some fun things.)  Since I wasn’t babysitting the generator I could take off.  If I could only get out the door!

My cousins on my mother’s side organize the family reunion.  But I’m not the only one who’s been having a rough spring.  Apparently invites didn’t go out until the last-minute and scheduling was a little haphazard.  I wasn’t sure I would be able to attend until the last-minute.  Once I knew I could I had to get groceries and put together something for the pot-luck.

It’s been awhile since I’ve made one of my mother’s recipes per her instructions.  Somehow I forgot that everything she makes feeds an army.   I started in one bowl, then needed a bigger one, and finally my biggest bread bowl.  I cook for hordes as well.  That’s not a small bowl!   Then I had to figure out how to carry a salad that needed refrigeration in the car for the weekend.  That meant another run to the store to buy a cooler bag.  (The bowl was too big for any of my coolers.)

I could get on the road except with all the damp we’ve had my screen door decided to fall off the house as I was loading the car!  It was truly a comedy of errors.  I even left the house and then turned around and came back because I didn’t grab fresh batteries for my camera.  I never took the camera out – so you have the post not only late but without photos.

I did keep the salad cold, and several cousins said they appreciated it as it’s a favorite.  I don’t get to these reunions often.  It’s been at least 8 years since I’ve been out to central Wisconsin.  The cousin who’s actually my age struggles with that as well, he’s coming from Omaha. It’s been at least 15 years and finally we were in the same place at the same time!

Due to the crazy (apparently its epidemic) only one set of my Aunts and Uncles were there.  Several families were not represented at all.  None the less it was really great to spend the day catching up with family.  A few of them are Facebook friends, but most of them I only get seasonal updates about from my Mom.

I was late getting back as well.  Orion’s Dad had to wait for me to get home, even though he was late dropping Orion off.

Somehow over the course of the weekend it’s become July!  How did that happen?!?   More running ahead for the 4th.  Bills need to be paid.  Time cards are due.  I really need to post a blog for the week.

So I throw up my hands and decide there’s no point resisting.  I’m embracing the crazy.  I’m posting late.  And I’ll wish you an early safe and joyful 4th of July, just so I don’t have to be late for that!

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on July 2, 2013, in Acceptance, Bio, seasonal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Gosh, DO I KNOW HOW YOU FEEL! Love that last sentence. And to think even the screen door had the nerve to fall off. Blessings to you, my friend–and time–lots of it!
    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. Don’t worry none about being late. You’ll be less stressed, I guarantee. Plus, why stress about time that’s already passed? Just be on time the next time. If you wind up being late anyway, well, you may need to check your batteries ’cause being late is a real bad behavior.

    • Honey, if you’d grown up with my father you’d understand why stress about being late. I keep trying to let it go though, because you’re right. You can’t do anything about time that’s already passed.

  3. “Embracing the crazy.” If it isn’t already an expression in our vernacular, then it should be. So clever, Lisa!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

