Reading

100_4582Several of you noticed that I accidentally posted a review for my other blog lisaspiralreads here.  The two blogs are both under my WordPress account and I was flipping back and forth and onto my desktop and who knows where and apparently lost track of where I was posting.    I’ve acquired a few new followers because of it.  Welcome!

I did (briefly) consider counting that as my post for this week.  But I really wanted it to count on the other blog.  Lisaspiralreads is a challenge to myself.  I made what I suppose was a New Year’s Resolution to review 50 books over the course of the year.   I don’t think I would have picked White Horse as representative of either blog.

I read a lot, and quite a wide variety.   I don’t review every book I read.  I tend to wait for a series to be fully published before I start in and read the whole thing through.  Why review every book when I’m reading the series?  I don’t review every trashy romance novel I read.  I don’t review the books I get bored with and never finish.  (Because it’s rude to review a book you can’t even get through?)

Guess which 4 get added to the stack today?

Guess which 4 get added to the stack today?

It’s been a really interesting challenge.  I’ve found myself reading more non-fiction than usual.  I’ll pick up a lot of non-fiction, but usually I’ll read a few chapters and skim the rest.  I’ve found myself more open to suggestions.  I’ve read books that I’ve come across reading many of your blogs.  Most of my books come from the library, so I’m going more regularly.

My my library system allows me to maintain a list of books on request.  When they become available I get an email and I can just drop in and pick up a stack.  There are many of us who are “regulars” in the request shelves.  One of those “regulars” is often about 2 number markers down from me, and often on the same shelf.  I browse their waiting books like I read your blogs, just to see what’s new.

Sometimes I'll sit by the windows and just read.

Sometimes I’ll sit by the windows and just read.

This library user probably got my attention because they had books I’d ordered in their slot.  Since I don’t really remember my number I often find my books by title, and then confirm the last few digits rather than actually finding my spot.  I figured if they liked some of the books I like, I might enjoy some of the books they like.  I’ll often check out what’s waiting for them and then stop at a terminal to log in and add myself to the waiting list.

I don’t know if this person is a man or a woman.  I have never seen them and there’s no way the library is going to give me a name.  Still I feel like I have a relationship.  A reading buddy, like a blogging buddy.  Someday I hope we’re at the library at the same time.  It would be Kismet.

Or in the winter appreciate the view from a warm perch.

Or in the winter appreciate the view from a warm perch.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 9, 2013, in Bio, Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Maybe there is no such thing as an “accident.” At least, sometimes I like to think so. Congrats on getting some new readers and congrats on having a great library to access books. That’s one thing I miss about being in Ecuador–no cost-effective way to get new reading material.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. Accidents happen. At least you did it on your blog. I’ve made the wrong comments on blogs from having too many up.

  3. After winning that Kindle Fire last year I’ve been reading more books on it. It’s way too convenient to find a book at the spur of the moment. Having said that I do like to read *real* books best. There’s something wonderful about them. Some day when I’m looking for a good book may go cruisin’ in your reviews.

  4. Well, I think you’ve created a great idea for a book of romance and intrigue – who IS this other library book user. Is he a man? What’s he look like and what’s his story? Hmmm.
    Nice to discover you here via The Switcheroo with Kathy!

  5. You have me wondering about this other library user. What if you could meet and discover you have so much in common, more than books, and soon become fast friends, kindred spirits. You need to crack the code, figure it out and solve the mystery. This has the makings of a great story!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

