Darkness

100_4359As we approach the autumnal equinox I am finding myself torn.  On the one hand I feel this “start-up” energy that comes with the beginning of school and the bounty in the gardens.  On the other hand I recognize the shortening of days, the approaching darkness.

After this coming weekend our nights will be longer than our days.  This is great for romantics, evening walks in the cool sunset and not too late nights under the stars.  This is not so great for mornings, getting up before the sun makes getting up that much harder.

Spiritually, the dark side of the year is an opportunity to explore the “hidden” parts of ourselves.  This can be working with darker aspects that we don’t like to acknowledge or just spending more time in quiet meditation.  It’s a time to work through old issues and clear out the attics of our souls.

It’s also a time to nurture ourselves.  Those tender seeds sprouting from that fall planting need time to gain strength before they break through into the light.  There is the nesting that comes with the harvest season.  The gardens are put to bed, fruits and vegetables canned.   I have an urge to bake, keeping the house warm without turning on the heat.

This is my third blog on the autumnal equinox.  I’ve written about Choice and I’ve written about Balance.   This year though I am headed into the darkness.  I’ve reached an age where it’s important to me to be honest with myself about myself.  I have to look at making some changes to my lifestyle, pruning away the things that interfere with my ability to truly prosper and grow. 100_3493

These are small seeds I plant in my heart this season.  The dark is scary and compelling.  There will not always be a light to guide my way.  I’ve commented on several of your blogs how facing fear, taking the risk and moving forward is the best way to grow confidence.  Maybe I’ve been talking to myself all along.

Blessings on your equinox.  May the balance shift in your favor.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 16, 2013, in Bio, fall, magic, seasonal, spiritual, wicca and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. May you be guided through the darkness. May your steps lead to your heart’s deepest desire. Wishing you well, Lisa, as the Equinox approaches.

  2. Love this, Lisa. It feels strange to experience this time of year from the equator where there is no real shift in the length of days. Gotta think about that. Hadn’t even realized it until I read your post. Thank you, so much!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • And we’re far enough north that the light shifts too. I love the angles of the light at the equinoxes, but I can’t seem to capture it on film. Interested in hearing about your experiences of “temperate time”.
      Hugs back!

  3. I will light a candle for you as you navigate the darkness.

  4. I love this post – I too will be facing fears and taking risks as we move into the dark part of the year. I think of this time of year as my emotional spring clean, or autumn clean. It often involves cleaning, too, but it’s definitely for me a time for contemplating and really being brutally honest with myself about how to move forward, and what needs to be left behind.

  1. Pingback: Autumn | Spiral Visions

  2. Pingback: Good Tired | Spiral Visions

  3. Pingback: Fall Equinox | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

