Hope

Apple store bounty

Apple store bounty

Orion and I went to the apple store at the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum last weekend.  It was a little bit disappointing.  The season is at least two weeks behind and there wasn’t as much variety in apples available as I’m used to.  I know I’ll hit a few more orchard based apple houses in October as I drive back and forth to all the events I’m attending.  Still, I found what I needed.  I even found a treasure, hawthorn jam, before we were on our way.

Driving home on the freeway I noticed something along the side of the road.  A wild turkey!  It was all by itself blithely pecking along the edges of the roadway.  Seeing the turkey, so out-of-place and yet so comfortably at home shifted my mood entirely.  I was delighted.

Not on the side of the freeway, but still a delightful surprise.

Not on the side of the freeway, but still a delightful surprise.

Thinking about the turkey made me realize how often the Universe sends something my way that makes me change the way I’m looking at the world.  Sometimes it’s a bounty, like finding money on the sidewalk.  Sometimes it’s running into an old friend by accident.  Sometimes it’s a bit of whimsy, even something I’ve seen many times before but just never noticed.  Sometimes it’s something like the turkey, so incongruous that I am struck with delight.

Taking on the shadow doesn’t mean giving up or shutting down.  There are lights in the world to guide my way.  There is always a hand offering hope in the darkness.  Remembering to be grateful for the challenges as well as the gifts helps to make me more aware, more open to the hand of hope when it appears.

I drive past him often, and he still makes me smile.

I drive past him often, and he still makes me smile.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 23, 2013, in Bio, grattitude, spiritual and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Little gifts from the universe make me smile too.

  2. Oh, I love your posts, Lisa. I love the way you look at life–the hope and spirit you find in the everyday wonders! This is beautiful.

    Interestingly, Ecuador can’t grow apples. It doesn’t get quite cold enough. Ours are trucked in from Chile.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  3. What a lovely post, Lisa. There are so many lights to guide us along the way. How fun that you found some hawthorn jelly! One year my friend made lots of the jelly. The berries grow along the Slate River in the old town of Arvon. Hoping you’re enjoying this fall day.

    • Thank you Kathy. It’s a beautiful day! You’ll get more of this lovely weather tomorrow I’m sure. We don’t have much color yet. There hasn’t been a lot of rain so I don’t expect a lot this year. The red at your falls was gorgeous. Another light.

      • Hmmm, I never noticed that you had responded to my comment. Glad you enjoyed the red at the falls. There really wasn’t much of it yet, but it did show up more than expected.

  4. Apples are very tempting, my I get one? 😀

Please feel free to leave a comment!

