Spinningwheel

100_4600The wheel of the year keeps turning and I’m still running to catch up.    I starting the morning with, “What do you mean it’s already Monday again?!?”  The leaves are finally starting to turn, about two weeks behind.  I’m feeling about two weeks behind as well.  Unfortunately, my schedule isn’t.

Sometimes when things are this hectic, and there is no end to the hectic in sight the best thing to do is actually to stop.  Take a moment and breathe.  Give myself permission to simply be present and grateful and still.  Setting a timer is sometimes a necessary component in this formula.   If I don’t set the alarm I spend the time worrying about how much time I’m taking.  If I do set a timer I can trust that it will go off and I will move on.

So let’s take a minute (no really, one minute) and breathe together…..

59…

Stop

57….

Take a deep breath in

56….

Let it out with a long exhale

54………

Take another deep breath, slowing it down just a little

52………

And simply let it slowly release

50……….

Let’s be in our bodies, simply allowing the experience we are experiencing.  Noticing where we are in space.  Noticing what does or doesn’t hurt.  Not correcting, or compensating but simply accepting what is.  Let’s be in our bodies.

35……….

Let’s open our hearts to gratitude.  Today, in this moment I am grateful for taking a breath.  I am grateful for the friends who are lending a hand this week.  I am grateful for the family that is pitching in or simply making space in their lives for me.   I am grateful to be up and moving and writing and continuing forward with my plans.  I am grateful for all of the people who take time to share this moment with me, in their own time.  I am grateful for all the bounty in my life.

Hints of color

Hints of color

5………

Take a deep breath in

3……….

Let it out long and slowly

Blessed be.

DING

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on October 7, 2013, in Bio, daily practice, fall, grattitude, meditation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Ding! what a lovely meditation, Lisa. Sometimes it’s so helpful to just do this, to relax. Thank you for sharing this and maybe some day we’ll be two weeks ahead. lol.

  2. Hectic is the story of my life. And Kathy is right–what a great meditation. I needed this, my friend. Thank you!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  3. I just took a wonderful deep breath, thank you! You are so right, that Monday seems to show up again before we know it and time so often feels like it’s slipping away from us before we know it, but in fact we just need to take these little moments to enjoy each day! Lovely post 🙂

  1. Pingback: Review | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

