Catch-up

november calendar 2013This past week was my “catch-up” week from the whirlwind that was October.  The last of the Samhain celebrations is over.  The next round of medical check-ups hasn’t started.  The holidays are still weeks away. (Thank goodness for a late Thanksgiving!)

The problem is that my “catch-up” week did not include quite enough catching up on the actual physical plane.  I did catch-up on my sleep (finally).  I got my refrigerator emptied of all those mystery plastic containers.  I made some soup, and some more soup and stashed some broth away in the freezer.  I read a book.  I even went to the movies!

I still haven’t finished unpacking.  Seriously, I still have camping dishes on my table from August, laundry in my living room from September and my suitcase from October is in front of the fireplace rather than put away in the closet.  I unpacked the things that HAD to be unpacked and abandoned the rest.

The stack of library books I've mostly not read

The stack of library books I’ve mostly not read

The library is not loving me.  I’ve stopped looking at my library page and am deleting the “important notice” emails.  I know all those books are overdue.  I know that the books I renewed in October have no renewals left.  I know I haven’t been to the library in a month and several “on hold” books have been returned to the stacks.  I’ll get to it, honest.  Just as soon as I write reviews for lisaspiralreads.  Well, I could return the half-dozen I haven’t even cracked open yet…..

I haven’t arranged to have the driveway plowed this winter.  I have to do this or Orion can’t get on the bus.  I haven’t raked leaves over the garden beds to keep them cozy warm (in case it doesn’t snow) until next spring.  I haven’t added fuel additive to the mower/tractor thing sitting out back under a tarp because I don’t have room for it to winter in the garage.

We have had a little snow, but luckily so far none of it has stayed.

We have had a little snow, but luckily so far none of it has stayed.

I’ve been saying for a month that I needed an extra two weeks in October.  I’m not on top of my game, but I’m ready for November.  How can it already be halfway gone?

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on November 11, 2013, in Bio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That’s always the way it is with catch-up weeks, with catch-up anythings, for that matter. Hope time slows down for you and you get those two extra weeks in November. In the meantime, enjoy all of those great books!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. ah, those darn overdue library books…..

  3. Catching up seems to be my speed. But everything seems to get done somehow.

  4. It can be so hard to catch up. I am trying to catch up on reading blogs this morning! It’s always tough when you travel and then come home to look around at your un-done chores…

Please feel free to leave a comment!

