Reading

Some of you know that I write a second blog.  lisaspiralreads.

My author photo heads up the front page on lisaspiralreads.wordpress.com

My author photo heads up the front page on lisaspiralreads.wordpress.com

I set up a challenge for myself to do book reviews on 50 books over the course of the year.  There is no particular consistency to that blog.  I post when I feel like it on the books I feel like reviewing.  I read books I don’t review.  I review books from a wide variety of genre’s.

The book reviews I write are the kind I like to read.  I don’t rate books.  I’ll tell you a little bit about them and why I did or didn’t enjoy them.  Sometimes I like the information.  Sometimes I like the writing style.  Sometimes I like the theme.  Sometimes I like to disappear into a pulp romance.

I haven’t been to the library in a month.  They keep sending me nasty notes about all the books I have that are now long over due.  I’ve been piling them up waiting to write reviews.  Followers of this blog know that my October lasted well into November and I barely caught up with myself before the holiday season started.  I’ve been biting my fingernails hoping that I’ll be able to get those last few weeks worth of book reviews written.

This book was the topic of my 50th review

This book was the topic of my 50th review

When I actually looked today I realized I only needed to write one more to make my goal of 50 reviews for the year.  The other 5 books sitting on the floor waiting to be reviewed could go back whether I wrote about them or not!  I’ve been avoiding, and worrying and waiting for nothing.

How often do you get yourself all worked up over a “deadline” that you’ve actually already met?

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on December 2, 2013, in Bio, Books, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Goodness, Lisa, I do that WAY too often. Sara says I worry too much about inconsequential things or things I have no ability to change one way or another. Congrats on writing the 50 reviews! Hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. Hi Lisa… I’m Helena, and I’m cheating on Andra’s idea — I’m saying hello to everyone today. I write quirky stories, except lately, when I write sad stories. I’m hoping to change that.

  3. Congratulations on meeting (or almost meeting?) your goal. That is a wonderful accomplishment. Will you do it again next year?

  4. Neat goal. I’m almost never early for a deadline. Kudos to you!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

