Circles

Births and deaths.   It seems the older I get the more these things mark the passages of my life.  The graduations and weddings come in clusters and I’m at an ebb for those.  Births and deaths on the other hand seem constant, a little here a little there but always something to count on in the course of a year.  This last week there were, of course, several of these that touched my life briefly.  Two, however, make a personal impact.

Final dress rehearsal for Man of LaMancha 1988.(David built a beautiful staircase that raised and lowered)

Final dress rehearsal for Man of LaMancha 1988.(David built a beautiful staircase that raised and lowered)

David Groska was the tech director for the theater department when I was in high school.  He was barely older than us students and we loved him for that, his talent, and his sense of humor.  He also had an explosive temper, which we found amusing as well.  In retrospect I don’t think I would have appreciated being stapled to the set either.

He dated one of my classmates and they married shortly after.  Not because they had to, but because they were meant to be together.  So why wait?   Teresa is now his widow and grateful for every moment they had together.

It wasn’t easy for them.  They started out young and poor.  Their eldest son had CP and some mobility issues.  Their second added all the complications of a sibling to a child with special needs.  Familiar as I am with this dynamic I can say Teresa and David handled it brilliantly.

The boys enjoyed being outdoors with their Dad.  They built forts and camped out and hunted.  Even though those boys are well on their way to being independent productive adults they’ll never stop missing their Dad.

David had been fighting with cancer for several years.  Teresa and the boys were by his side every step of the way.  The disease finally caught up with him.  He’s free of pain and we are all left with memories.

My sister Andrea with her new grand baby.

My sister Andrea with her new grand baby.

On the other side of things my nephew Zac and his partner Darcy had their new baby on Friday: Emmaline Rae McMahon.  This is their third, and the first girl.  Adian is older, the High School boyfriend’s son.  He’s such a proud big brother – as long as he doesn’t have to share his room with the babies.  Babies is plural because Charles is just a year and a half old.  He’s not quite sure what to make of the new baby, but we know he’ll be great too.

Andrea, my sister, is glowing.  She’s been driving back and forth from her house in Northern Minnesota to the kids in Mankato in crazy weather and nasty traffic conditions.  We placed bets on whether she’d make it to Thanksgiving dinner.  In my household the money was on her sitting down to eat and the call coming in.  Finally the wait is over.

Karina texted me, “The pic of Andrea and Emmaline makes me want to have a baby for you.”   Me too, but I told her not to rush on my account.  I’ve been ready to be a Grandma for years, I can wait a few more.  My “little” sister’s been a Grandma for 4 years now.  Owen got to go meet his cousin over the weekend and he was enchanted.  Orion and I will probably hold out until the family gets together for the holidays.  You may get another post about Emmaline yet….

The world turns in circles: wins and losses, plusses and minuses, births and deaths and the turn of the seasons.  It’s hard to find gratitude with some of those turns, and much easier with others.  I keep looking for it in small ways even when I can’t find it in the larger more obvious places.

Here’s hoping your life changes this week are slightly distant (it’s easier that it’s neither my husband nor my grandchild) or at least not quite so dramatic as life and death.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on December 9, 2013, in Bio, grattitude, kindness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I would like a little birth now. (Not for me, just somehow near me). Or does giving birth to a novel count?

  2. So sorry to hear about the death of David. Sad. Sounds like he was way too young to die. But congrats on the new baby in the family. What a cutie. Hope you’re staying warm, dear Lisa!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • We’re managing to stay warm enough. Orion went to the winter parade (the Holidazzle) but they watched from one of our skyways to stay warm.
      David was way too young, but it was nice visiting with my old high school friends.
      A girl after all those boys will be a great treat for the family!

  3. What a lovely tribute to your friend David, as well as the reminder that the circle of life includes birth and rejoicing.

  4. Love the name Emmaline. 🙂

  5. Blessings to all those who knew David. Blessings for that circled turning of life. May we turn with it and not resist it. Thank you so much for sharing this, Lisa.

  1. Pingback: Sugar Challenge | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

