Holidays

The Yule log is ready to light.

The Yule log is ready to light.

Here I am smack in the middle of holiday celebrations.  The solstice last weekend rang in a whirlwind of festivities.  I took a small part in a public Yule ritual put on by Harmony Tribe.

What's a Yule without flying reindeer?

What’s a Yule without flying reindeer?

This was an afternoon event and very kid friendly.  I think there were almost as many children present as adults.  There was storytelling about the traditions of the holiday, including flying reindeer.  It was a short and simple ritual with lots of laughter and singing.  I like the public events for the post ritual food.  It’s an opportunity to catch up with folks I don’t see regularly.   Lots of hugs and sharing.

That same evening the small coven I belong to gathered for their Solstice Rite.  The Deities we were working with are travelers, migratory and so the space was filled with carpets and pillows to make a wayside rest, a caravanserai.  The God in particular has a role as guardian for the shamans.   Think about the neolithic caves, the walls painted with stories of shamanic travels.   This God sits before the cave entrance to guard and protect those who enter to journey.  So we started the rite with drumming and guided meditation seeking help to fulfill our visions for the coming year.

Our altar set in the center of the Caravanserai.

Our altar set in the center of the Caravanserai.

Feasting is a big deal in our group and we did well this year.  We had smoked salmon and apples and hard cheese and fig whip.  We had pork roast and venison with gravy.  We had brussel sprouts and garden salad and wild rice.  Desert included baklava, stollen, and sugar cookies with a poppy-seed frosting.  Since I can’t find the cord that lets my camera talk to my computer I didn’t take many photos.  I’m not nearly as good with the camera on my phone.  I promise I’ll try to do better along the way.

Sunday was another Solstice celebration.  This time with the community at Walker church.  I wrote about them when the old building burned in a fire.  The new church is built and just opened so we got to celebrate at the new hearth fire.   Solstice is the celebration of the returning light after the longest night of the year.  For this ritual start in darkness and light candles representing the blessings that have shone for us that they may light us into the new year.  It’s a pretty ritual and it was a delight to celebrate with this community in a beautiful new space.

Being one of those folks who values spirituality in whatever form it’s offered I still have Christmas celebrations to come.  There is cooking to do this week in anticipation of the holiday.  Next Monday’s blog will give you the play-by-play of my family’s Christmas “Chopped” challenge.  I even have plans for a pajama party for New Years eve!

Hope your holidays a full of love and laughter.  May your travels be smooth and safe.  May your holiday wishes come true.  I’ll light a candle in thanks for all the warm comments you’ve left over the year.  Thank you for reading!  Blessed Be.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on December 23, 2013, in Bio, Pagan, seasonal, spiritual, wicca, winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Your community rituals and spiritual gatherings always sound so warm and wonderful, Lisa. Wishing you the happiest at this time of year. May 2014 be one in which you fly closer to the sun and ground your feet deeper into the earth. Blessings!

  2. What is fig whip?

    Happy Holidays, Lisa.

    • Sounds kind of nasty when you say it that way. I don’t know what else to call it. It was like a fig pudding, but not figgy pudding – which is more like a cake. Or like whipped yogurt with figs, except that I don’t think it was yogurt unless it had a lot of cream cheese in it. I didn’t make it, but it was tasty.

  3. A pajama party sounds good. I don’t know who I can impose on for that at the moment though. Happy New Year. Hope your Christmas was merry and whatnot.

  4. Love the descriptions of your traditions in celebrating this time of year. So many of us ignore the soltice but it is an important day and you honor it well. Very nice, Lisa!

  1. Pingback: Sugar Challenge | Spiral Visions

  2. Pingback: ‘Tis the Season | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

