Happy Spring!

The only way I could see daffodils springing up out of the snow.

The only way I could see daffodils springing up out of the snow.

Last week was the vernal equinox, the official start of spring.  Dare I mention that we had snow flurries this morning?

.

.

.

.

.

.

A friend dyed these for Orion and me.

A friend dyed these for Orion and me.

Dying eggs is a big deal this time of year.  Whether you dye them for Easter or Ostara or just because it’s fun I have to wonder if part of the reason for dying eggs is just to put some color into the landscape.

 .

.

.

.

.

Running water in Minnehaha Creek

Running water in Minnehaha Creek

In warmer climates there are native breeds of chickens that lay eggs of different colors.  If you think about the climates in places  like the Ukraine, famous for their egg dying techniques, winters are longer and springs can be pretty grey.

.

.

.

.

Ice lace tunnel

Ice lace tunnel

There are signs that spring may indeed show up after this very hard winter.

.

.

.

.

.

We have had quite a lot of melt (honest).  There was running water in the creek and I even saw a minnow swim by in the icy water.

Melting sheets of ice in the river give new meaning to "ice dams".

Melting sheets of ice in the river give new meaning to “ice dams”.

.

.

.

.

This year we blessed our eggs for the strength to hold on through the thaw.  It may still be awhile, but it’s coming.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on March 24, 2014, in Bio, magic, Pagan, seasonal, Spring, wicca and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I need spring to come, but the storm is (supposedly) heading our way. Sigh.

  2. Happy Spring, my friend. Here in the Southern Hemisphere we are heading into fall. Hope you have a merry Monday, Lisa.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  3. I love the photo of the vase of daffodils on the snow, haha! All our snow has melted but we’re expecting some flurries (I hope just that) tomorrow. But, like you, I have bought daffodils for the home in anticipation of warmer days. Hope your snow melts soon!!

  4. Lisa, as hard as this winter has been, your pictures of it leaving are gorgeous. I’ve never seen an ice lace tunnel.

  5. We are on some weird atmospheric roller coaster – sixties, then snow and ice. It was beautiful yesterday and then snowed all day today. I was going to take the snow banners off of my blog site and then decided it would stay until the snow went away. Hurry spring….

  6. Wow, snow in spring. What a contrast, that flower on the snow. It’s cold here but no snow, thankfully. It knocked me out for a coupla days and I’ve been stuffed up with a cold. Be glad to feel consistent warmth.

  7. Love the colors your friend chose for the eggs. Wow. Great photo!

  8. Repeat three times. We will get spring. We will get spring. We will get spring. In the meantime: Happy Late Winter! LOL. Nah, I think it’s *almost* spring, now. Thanks for alerting me to this blog.

  1. Pingback: Inspiration | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

