Fiddleheads

It’s raining again, but there is a glorious greening.  I’m missing having a decent camera to catch the new growth.

Forgot to take a selfie, so...

Forgot to take a selfie, so…

I had a Mother/Daughter Mother’s Day.  Orion went off for Sunday with his Dad, as usually.  Karina and her puppy came over to spend the day.  She brought me brownies (and returned my favorite pie pan.)   She took me out for coffee and to the grocery store.  That may not seem like much, but her doing the loading/unloading/putting away was a real treat for me.  We also got some new planters and dirt for my tomato plants.  (They won’t go in for a few more weeks.)   Karina set them all up so they are ready for me when the time comes.

Where's Mom?

Where’s Mom?

She had a massage scheduled, so I also got to babysit the puppy.  Minnie is a sweetie, but she wasn’t quite sure what to make of it when Karina left her alone with me.  Eventually she settled down and we had a bit of quiet reading time.

Nice to have company along with a good book.

Nice to have company along with a good book.

I have so much to be grateful for with both of my kids.  I’m also grateful I got to see my own Mother last week for lunch and talk to her again on Mother’s Day.

This morning I’m of to do orientation for my volunteer gig (check out last week’s post for more about that.)  Then I hope the rain lets up enough for me to gather some fiddleheads for dinner.    MMMMMMM  the taste of spring!0512140850b

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on May 12, 2014, in Bio, grattitude, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’ve never eaten a fiddlehead, Lisa.

  2. So happy you had a lovely day, Lisa. A belated happy Mother’s Day to you, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  3. I’ve heard they are fantastic but I’ve never tried them. Love asparagus and morel mushrooms, also abundant at this time of year.

    • But the asparagus patch got overgrown with weeds and I don’t have a morel patch, but the fiddleheads are right outside the back door. 🙂 (If the others were out in the back yard you bet I’d go for them too, hell of a breakfast omelette!)

  4. Belated Mother’s Day wishes to you, Lisa. How sweet that you watched the puppy. Glad Karina helped you out on your special day.

  5. Nice portrait. Better than a selfie. 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment!

