Change

My pansy are happier

My pansy are happier

I’ve been delighted by the signs of change, of the turning seasons, in my neighborhood.  I’m trying to notice more, to be more present with the small things.  After all, the only thing that’s certain is change.

In my second book, When Gods Come Knocking: An Exploration of Mysticism from a Deity Based Perspective, I talk about Deities tapping on shoulders and making demands.   I say that generally when that happens the Divine wants something done for them.  I maintain that the attitude of “I’m the only one who can do this” is hubris.  We can say no.  Sometimes we know we shouldn’t, but we always can.

In my first book, Manifest Divinity, I talk about building relationship with the Divine.  When we work on developing and maintaining relationship sometimes that tap on the shoulder becomes very personal.  The “tap” that I’ve been getting for the past year, louder and louder, has been “Change or Die.”  Now that can certainly be commentary on the political situation, on climate change, on conservation and resource use.  But for me it seems very personal.  The action items are directly about my health.

I wish my peony looked as good as my neighbor's.

I wish my peony looked as good as my neighbor’s.

I have made many changes in my health related patterns over the years.  I’ve studied nutritional theories and taken on dietary changes that make a difference.  I’ve looked at exercise and movement, and physical therapy and had limited success.  I’ve addressed mental health taking a hard look at my self sabotage, getting out of a bad marriage and examining my unhealthy communication patterns.  But at this point the change being demanded is dramatic and fast, a line in the sand.

A friend of mine died unexpectedly last week.  We’ve been out of touch for several years.  We had a falling out because I wasn’t kind in speaking my mind and she wasn’t interested in hearing what I had to say.  Essential my message to her was, “Get help to change or die”.   Now she’s gone.  I don’t have any details, but I know she struggled with significant health issues for many years.  Some of those issues are the same one’s I’m facing.

Pansy isn't the only edible flower I have blooming!

Pansy isn’t the only edible flower I have blooming!

In my experience, when the Divine puts something into action there are usually multiple things being impacted.  Often times we can only see one, especially at the beginning, but the Divine has a broader vision.  Along the journey of carrying out the task we tend to touch many people, interact in many different ways in the world.  We are often not aware of the impact that we have, but it can be profound.

Being friends with this woman, even for a short time out of the scope of our lives, had a profound impact.  She was one of my inspirations to write.  She was incredibly helpful, demanding clarity in my use of language when discussing spirituality.  She gave me Ireland.  We traveled together, because she needed a companion and I wanted to go.  If I pronounce any Gaelic word correctly, it’s because of her.  I am changed, simply because I knew her, and I will always be grateful for that.

Kinvara, Ireland

Kinvara, Ireland

But the time has clearly come for me to change as well.  I have spent much of the last year exploring options to address my own multiple health issues.  Although I recognize I have the choice to say no, I have chosen change.  I have decided that I want to live and that I want to live more fully and actively than I have been able to do for some time.  That definitely requires a dramatic change.

Sometime in July I am going to go through bariatric surgery.  I’ll keep you posted where I can, and write more about my perspective and process.  But if, in the next few months, I miss posting please hang in there with me.  It’s easy to become overwhelmed looking at such big changes and trying to plan for all possible outcomes.

May the road rise up to meet you May the wind always be at your back May the sun shine warm upon your face May the rain fall soft upon your fields And until we meet again May the Gods hold you in the palm of their hands

May the road rise up to meet you
May the wind always be at your back
May the sun shine warm upon your face
May the rain fall soft upon your fields
And until we meet again
May the Gods hold you in the palm of their hands

Both of my books are available in paperback or as e-books from Amazon.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on June 16, 2014, in Bio, grattitude, spiritual, spirituality, Uncategorized, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Very sorry to hear about the loss of your former friend, Lisa. Even though you no longer had a relationship, you clearly valued what she brought to your life. I wish you much success in dealing with changes. They’re tough to make and even tougher to make stick.

  2. I am feeling your commitment and focus, Lisa. It is inspirational. Your honesty about your friend, plus your loving thoughts, shows that you are a thoughtful and spiritual being. Good luck with your surgery. I am picturing you glowing with health and peace.

  3. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear you lost your friend, Lisa! That has got to be painful. Glad to know you are going to have the surgery, however. Like Kathy, I wish you good health and peace!

    Sorry to have been gone for so long. We were without internet for two weeks and then I traveled to the US for nearly another two. So glad to be home in Cuenca again!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  4. I am so sorry for your loss, Lisa. And I do wish you the best of luck with all these changes. I think it’s brave when someone knows that they can choose the easy way out, but still remain determined to face the difficulties and achieve better results.

    I hope you will keep us updated!

    • Thank you. I’m not sure there is an easy way out, but I will definitely keep updating the blog. I just hope I can manage to keep meeting my self imposed deadline!

  1. Pingback: Sacrifice | Spiral Visions

  2. Pingback: To-Do | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

