To-Do

"photo booth" at Gilda's Club "You Rock!" event

“photo booth” at Gilda’s Club “You Rock!” event

It feels like my “to-do” list is miles long.  The garden is a mess.  (I still haven’t thinned those radishes.)  It seems like when it’s raining I have time to weed, but can’t get out.  When it’s a beautiful day for gardening I have errands to run and places to be.

Last weekend Orion and I went to Gilda’s Club to celebrate Gilda Radner’s birthday and we had a great time.  I got to introduce him to all the people I know from volunteering there.  He’s still talking about it!  We got home minutes before the rain started.  Life is just like that sometimes, but it doesn’t get things done!

Tomorrow I officially start my pre-surgery diet regiment.  I went to a class to learn what to expect and got a shopping list of things I might need in the next few weeks and for a few weeks after the surgery.  I anticipated a few of those items, but there are still several that have been added to my “t0-do” list.  It seems like every time I turn around it gets longer!

I went to make toast this morning and the toaster didn’t work.  No electricity.  No electricity in the entire bar that is the primary electrical source for my kitchen.  It’s not the circuit breakers, it’s the uncanny old wires.   Add hire an electrician (which may become an electrical contractor) to the list of things “to-do”.

In the next few weeks I have several doctor appointments, including a pre-op.  I have questions that I need to ask the surgeon that came up during the “what to expect in surgery” class.  I have to get Orion ready for the changes coming up in his schedule.  (Helping with transfers will be a BIG no-no for me for awhile.  I’ll even have to work up to tossing the wheelchair into the back of the car, and that doesn’t weigh nearly as much as he does!)

And then there is coordinating support.  I can’t tell you all how much I’ve appreciated the kind words, thoughts, and prayers from my readers.  The comments cheering me on are invaluable.  They mean the world to me and brighten my days.  They just don’t get the grocery shopping done.  Yet another thing to add to the “to-do” list.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on June 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. If you can, maybe freeze you some food and that’ll help you out post-surgery. My best to you. I need to get out and do my yard. Never got around to planting anything for a garden.

    I imagine you and son did have a great time at Gilda’s place. Nothing like a good laugh from the belly.

  2. Here’s to peace and rest in the coming weeks, Lisa. I love the pictures of you two.

  3. Bless you, my friend. You have a lot on your plate–no pun intended–especially since I bet you will only be able to eat tiny portions. Hang in there, Lisa.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  4. I almost have to close my eyes coming up the driveway. We had a bunch of trees cut down and now the whole yard is a huge mess. But there’s nothing I can do about it, so I’ll just have to learn to let it go — and also to race into the house like a madwoman to prevent myself from seeing it. Don’t worry about the unimportant things. They’ll manage by themselves.

  5. Know that we’ll be wishing you the best in the upcoming weeks, Lisa. What a special time in your life. So don’t stress about any to-do lists. (At least I do that sometimes.) Blessings!

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Gilda | Spiral Visions

Please feel free to leave a comment!

