Sailing

I'm game to go again!

I’m game to go again!

I promised I’d let you know how sailing went.  It was delightful!   We had a pretty calm day so we drifted back and forth across the Mississippi River at Lake Pepin.    Three middle-aged women in the middle of nowhere on a perfect day just chatting was exactly the right way to treat myself to a “time out”.

That was the whole point of going sailing, to take a real “time out” and do something fun just for me.   I had the whole day so the hour and a half drive down and back was not rushed.  We saw eagles and turkey vultures flying over the bluffs around the river.  It was a lazy day, but a stimulating one.  I love being on the water.  It relaxes me in a way that nothing else can.

I haven’t really been sailing.  I’ve been on a catamaran on the ocean.  I’ve been in canoes.  I’ve been in motor boats and pontoon boats.  I’ve always wanted to sail.  There’s something about the water and the wind that appeals to my sense of imagination.  It seems like there’s a freedom in sailing.  The potential is there for speed, but also quiet.

Captain Beth

Captain Beth

We spent all afternoon on the water.  When we came back to the marina and got the boat put away for the evening I felt I’d made a new friend in Captain Beth.  My first words ashore were, “Can we do it again!?”

I think it’s important for all of us to treat ourselves on occasion.  Sometimes that’s a quiet solitary retreat.  Sometimes that’s trying something new and challenging.  Sometimes that’s making a dream come true.  Whatever it is I am starting to be more aware of things that actually feed my soul.  I’m starting to prioritize making those things happen for me more frequently.

It’s challenging to do things “just for me.”   I’m finding it’s also very worth the effort.

Lake City Marina

Lake Pepin Marina

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 2, 2014, in Bio, grattitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Sounds heavenly and inspirational.

  2. Middle-aged? Who? Oh yeah, I guess you’re right!! To me it felt like 3 extremely mature 16 year olds, but hey, either way it was a great day on the water!! So wonderful to finally meet you and we should do it again before the season ends (10/27). Hopefully next time we pick a day with some wind, but it’s really all about the wonderful company. Thanks!!

  3. So glad you posted a photo of your smiling face.

  4. So glad you did something “just for you”. Sounds like a wonderful day! Feeling your good energy.

  5. Must feel good to be out and about, listening to the music and all. Like letting your hair down and taking your shoes off. I could use some of that.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

