Brujería

I often start the autumn decorating in August, with the first harvest.  Then add and subtract all the way through Thanksgiving.  This year though it’s taken me until now to start thinking about Halloween decorating.  It’s the neighbors that got me started.  All those walks around the block are becoming inspirational.

Orion in Mazatlan

Orion in Mazatlan

I was surprised at how few actual Halloween decorations I could find.  I suspect several of the things I know I’ve got somewhere are too practical to be tucked away.  I know I have a few serving platters and baskets.  The gourds and corn may have all been tossed.  Over the years they can get a little nasty in the damp basement.

What I did find was my Brujeria.   I picked her up in Mazatlan when I was there with Orion for his High School graduation trip.  She’s too delicate to ship well.  (I’ve been glueing bits back on ever since.)  But I loved her attitude.  Halloween, Samhein, Dios de los Muertos all come together for me in this little witch.

I’ve always enjoyed the fall.  The cooler weather appeals to me.  In Minnesota fall is much more dependable a season than spring.  Denial of winter is easy as long as the snow doesn’t get too thick on the ground.  I’ve trick-or-treated in snow pants and boots, but most of the time those early snows don’t linger.

On the other side of the year it doesn’t seem like spring until something green is poking out from the ground.  That doesn’t often happen when there’s still melting snow.  In Minnesota spring can last a day or a week, but fall can go on for months September-October-November.  Sometimes it feels like fall in August, but it’s still summer at least until Labor Day, regardless of the weather.

It’s a good time of the year for fires in the fireplace, or even a bonfire outdoors.  It’s all about being dressed in layers.  Sweaters, woolens, deep pockets and hats but mostly sweaters.  It’s not unusual to see a sweater with shorts, or a wool coat and shoes – no socks.  There are plenty of people here who will hang on to wearing sandals until the snow really flies.

Brujeria

Brujeria

At this time of year it’s easy to be aware of the presence of our ancestors.  I think about the fishing and hunting this time of year as a way to gather enough to make it through the winter.  I think about my own ancestors wishing for a little more warm to get in the crops and a little more cold to make refrigeration possible.  When I pick up sticks in the yard I’m planning kindling for when the woodpile is buried under the snow.

The Brujeria thinks like this at all times, in all seasons.  She lives in harmony with the world around her, even when she is at odds with the culture.  She gathers her ingredients when the time is right and uses them at her own discretion as the need arises.  She feels the changing of the seasons in her bones and readies herself and her clients for whatever she foresees.

This year I’m hoping she’ll help me with that!

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Bio, fall, magic, Pagan, seasonal, spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Beautiful post. I love your Brujeria.

  2. A perfect thing to have, a Brujeria, especially when things start changing everywhere. You’ve introduced me to something new, Lisa. Thank you.

  3. Fascinating, Lisa. I’m not familiar with Brujeria, either. I’d love a really basic intro–you know how ignorant I am about these thing. Fall is my favorite time of year, also–though we don’t have much seasonal change here.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Honestly there are a lot of cultural undertones about Brujeria that I’m not equipped to deal with. Just like witches in Europe the word is used to describe midwives, herbalists, magic users and she who casts the “evil eye”. Dia de los Muertos or the day of the dead is the big seasonal celebration of the ancestors. Graves are tended, family picnics are had in the cemeteries, and there are flowers and skulls everywhere. Samhein also acknowledges the seasonal shift and the ancestors. Halloween is a celebration of overcoming, or gaining control, over the things that frighten us – the unknown and change being big components of that. I’d like to think all of us have wise women somewhere in our ancestry and celebrate that.

  4. Oh I like that Brujeria and the gifts she shares with us! Living in harmony even when/if at odds with the culture. Knowing when the time is right. Feeling things in her bones. Oh, Brujeria, help us all with this. We humans sometimes struggle…

  5. I love Autumn too, the cooler air, dressing in layers. And you’re right, it’s a dependable season for the most part. There’s something reassuring in that. We can settle into it and ease into winter…. Enjoy these early autumn weeks.

  6. I like fall weather too. If it stay this way, I wouldn’t mind at all.

    I’m not decorating for Halloween. I used to buy loads of candy to give away but I stopped last year. Just an unnecessary cost. I’m in harmony with that decision.

    • We’ve got a new batch of kids moved into the neighborhood so I’ll probably do some candy, and Orion likes to sit at the door and give it out. I just hate having the bowl of “leftovers” tempting me. 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment!

