Money

It has been two weeks of paying big bills – all at once – with money I may or may not actually have.  That’s always fun, isn’t it?  The car insurance was due, there was a registration for a conference,  I have my car in at the shop today for winterization and its 60,000 mile check-up and of course the contract for plowing.  It doesn’t rain but it pours, except at this time of year when it snows.

out the window this Monday morning.

out the window this Monday morning.

I’m not sure if I got the contract in early enough to get this “snow event” covered.  (I kept holding back on sending it because of that iffy money thing.)  They certainly hadn’t come before I left the house this morning.  Thing is that Orion needs to leave before me.  Have you ever pushed a wheelchair through the snow?  They’re not exactly designed for that kind of travel.  Maybe if we had sled dogs!

The plows haven’t come through yet, so at least there wasn’t a huge mound at the end of the driveway.  Getting an electric ramp to lower – flat – over one of those mounds is next to impossible.  My plowing needs are complicated.  It’s been years (10+) since I’ve even considered picking up a shovel.  Those bus drivers (bless them) have occasionally gone above and beyond and made a path. Mostly I’ve been dependent on husbands (not an option anymore) or the plowing contract.

Go Mom!

Go Mom!

But today I bundled up and gave it a go!  Got Orion ready.  Shoveled a path for him down the driveway.  Got dressed and drove, on glare ice, to the dealership and am taking care of business.  It feels really good to be ABLE to do all of that in one morning, and still have a brain.  I’ve been writing this post in my head since last night.  While I wait I’ve finally got time to write it down.  That kind of busy is still new to me.   I really am enjoying it.  There are definitely things more important than money.

Be safe this winter driving season!

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on November 10, 2014, in Bio, fall, grattitude, seasonal, winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Goodness, glad you didn’t hurt yourself shoveling. I hate to spend money I don’t have. What can I say? The snow looks pretty. Does that help? I know. At least I tried.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The snow is pretty, but driving on it is deadly today. You would think we’d be prepared, it’s not like it doesn’t come every year. But even the plows seemed to be behind this morning.

  2. You’re dealing with snow already? And that’s a good bit. I understand the weather is to be bad nationwide. That means no school and everything else will be shut down for I don’t know how long. Last year, Little Totsy got tired of being stuck with me but that was more her problem than mine. Keep safe and warm.

    • snow isn’t so unusual this time of year for us. School closings are unlikely,mostly just late starts. Safe and warm sounds good to me. You keep warm and inside working on that comic! 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment!

