Post-Holiday-Post

Mom and Dad getting the turkey ready

Mom and Dad getting the turkey ready

I’ve started to write today’s blog several times over the course of the holiday weekend.  I had a follow-up post about gratitude.  I had a post about family and relationship dynamics.  I always have the option of a post about food, and this year in particular with the huge Thanksgiving meal a challenge after my bariatric surgery.  I had a post about the weekend and going to see comedian Josh Blue.

Just the appetizers!

Just the appetizers!

I don’t want to finish any of them.  In fact the only thing I really want to do is crawl back into bed under the covers.   It’s Monday.  It’s COLD outside (the windchill is hovering near -15 and the temps are just above Zero).  I didn’t get to sleep in all weekend.   It’s the post-holiday let down.

There is some comfort in returning to routine.  The problem is that between Thanksgiving and Christmas/Chanukah/Winter Solstice/Kwanza all routine gets thrown in the trash (along with the excessive packaging).  There is a LOT of cleaning to do.  There is a LOT of cooking to do.  There is a LOT of decorating to do.  And then there’s shopping, and wrapping, and writing out cards.

Going to see Josh Blue with Karina and Orion

Going to see Josh Blue with Karina and Orion

Since Thanksgiving was so late this year I’ve been able to keep my head in the ostrich hole for almost the entire month of November.  Now I’m somehow surprised that it’s December and I’m not ready!  Somehow I don’t think going back to bed will help.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on December 1, 2014, in Acceptance, fall, seasonal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. The holiday season is always so difficult. I totally understand.

  2. Ooo, it’s cold where you are! We (near NYC) had a few very cold days a couple of weeks ago but then have had oddly warm days recently. The ups and downs in temperature are giving everyone colds for some reason (probably all the festivities and gathering together, right?) but it’s better than the cold your experiencing. Hang in there!

  3. Can I join you? Between being MTM’s nurse and getting everything else done, I’m drowning in To Do. Here’s to a relaxing December for both of us.

  4. I must say I’ve never experienced this holiday season myself. Where I live these things aren’t celebrated, but boy does it all sound hectic!

  5. I can so identify with wanting to crawl under the covers. Such a welcoming place in the cold season. Although, it’s been in the 60s where I am. I do like the off-routine of the holidays. It’s just a little more lax, I work I mean, and I could use that.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

