Food

PART_1419860637603_20141223_220053It has been my blogging tradition to do a post about my family’s holiday meal.  This year everything was different – literally everything!   My whole perspective on food is shifting because of the bariatric surgery I had in July.  I’m eating pretty normally now – normal apparently for normal people.  I’m still astonished by how little food it takes to make me feel satisfied.  The problem is that my volume is so low I can’t seem to get enough protein.  So not only is protein a priority, it has become the priority.

The second thing most different thing was the menu – or perhaps how the menu was established.  Entertaining at this level has become a little too much for my Mom and Dad.  (They still do it occasionally, but we won’t “make” them do it for us anymore.)  We see how long it takes them to recover.  That won’t stop them from contributing!  You may recall that although my sister hosted Thanksgiving my Mom made the turkey (and stuffing and wild rice) and my Dad baked bread and there were contributions to the appetizer table.

This year my 21-year-old daughter (the baker) decided she was going to take on the family holiday.  She’s worked in a production kitchen.  She’s helped plan and prep meals for weekend retreats.  She’s had lovely dinner parties for 4, and hosted (with help) dinner parties for 8.  But the family holiday is a whole new level of stress.  She’s got her Grandmother’s china setting for 12.  She’s got enough open space in her apartment.  She’s got the culinary chops to pull it off.

She doesn’t have place settings for 20, or 19, or 21 or Who is coming to this event anyway?!?   She doesn’t have table space or seating for that many – room, but not the furniture.  She doesn’t have linens or enough silverware or glasses.  She also is waitressing, covering shifts for everyone who asked off for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day along with her regular shifts.  Five busy and under staffed work days followed by a dinner party for 20ish you’re hosting on Saturday is something only to be undertaken by someone that young.  Oh, and my parents coming into town planning to stay with her as well.

She really was brilliant.  She told everyone what she was making (ham and mashed potatoes) and what they were to bring.  She rented tables and washed up my old linens and dug out my stored silverware.  She did everything in her power to make sure everyone would be comfortable, contributing, and welcomed.  For most everybody that was enough.   The few lines in the sand she drew (no you can’t bring him he wasn’t invited/if he doesn’t want to be here he can go home) were appropriate and as gracious as possible.

Dinner at Merlin's Rest and a German Chocolate Cake from scratch.

Dinner at Merlin’s Rest and a German Chocolate Cake from scratch.

I ate all week.   Karina, Orion and I opened presents to each other Christmas eve and I made king crab and beef tenderloin.  I had a crab leg and maybe an ounce of beef.  On Christmas day Karina panicked and I went over to help her decorate her tree and get the house ready.  She took me out for lunch – Chinese of course.  Friday my parents came into town and we went to the restaurant where Karina was working for dinner.  Mom had mussels, Dad had a vegetarian pot pie, Orion had fish and chips (and my fries and Mom’s fries) and I had a steak and Stilton pie (mostly just the insides).  I baked my Mom a birthday cake and so we had some of that as well.  The restaurant staff was happy to have their share of cake too.  Plenty to go around when a “piece” amounts to a few bites.

Then there was the big dinner Saturday.  Dad made a tin of his caramel corn (a tin the size of a 4 gallon tub) and several loaves of bread.  He swore they’d eaten all the gravlax (he makes that too) for breakfast.  (Some found its way to my refrigerator, but no bagels.)  Mom brought shrimp dip, oysters and caviar, and artichoke dip.   I added a cheese ball (Mom’s recipe) and some pomegranate salsa and chips.   Just a little to whet the palate!   I managed to have a bite of everything but some of it waited until the next day.

This is what a LARGE portion of carmel corn looks like to me these days.  A big change from several handfuls!

This is what a LARGE portion of caramel corn looks like to me these days. A big change from several handfuls!

Dinner was the lovely bone in ham that Karina made, along with her mashed potatoes and gravy.  Darcy put together a beautiful spinach salad with almonds and blueberries.  My Mom dug out her homemade blue cheese dressing.   I roasted up some vegetables.  My little sister, Janine, made desert – a raspberry bomb – a tradition from our childhood that I haven’t had in years.  What a treat!  (2 bites worth, but I know where the leftovers are….)

You’d think I would have taken photos, but I was busy helping out in the kitchen and getting the tables set.  Kept me from drooling all over the food that I couldn’t eat. (Even if I wanted to, I couldn’t have done it.  There was too much!)    It was actually a more simple meal that we usually have, but it was especially tasty and more than enough.

We were missing Andrea (part of the reason Karina hosted was because our Thanksgiving hosts were out with his family) and my niece.  But we did have Janine  and her boys (another coup for Karina).   Everyone left early.  The elders were tired, Janine had to get home, Darcy and Zac had more relatives to visit before the day was out.   Karina was asleep in my lap within an hour of everyone leaving.

I’m so proud of my daughter for pulling off a daunting affair at her age.  She may even be willing to do it again next year (paper plates?).

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on December 29, 2014, in Bio, grattitude, seasonal, winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I think it’s awesome that you’re adjusting this way, and everyone is so supportive.

    • Thanks for your support! It really helps that my sister Andrea did this surgery a couple of years ago. She did all the hard work to get everyone else adjusted to her “new normal”.

  2. You definitely want to beef up on the protein. My sister went on a vegetarian diet and lacked it so badly, she acquired rheumatoid arthritis. Eat plenty of eggs, fish and beans. I need more vitamin E, so that’s my priority. Hope you have a great holiday and a banging New Year!

  3. I wondered about your holiday given the recent surgery, but it sounds like you handled it well. Happy New Year Lisa.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

