Interlude

I seem to be stuck in “whiney” mode and I don’t like it.  So my thoughts for today are consciously choosing to look a little more positively on the world and to be grateful.

I’ve been really busy.  Getting the DVT diagnosis doubled my appointments last week.   But I have a great team.  All of the medical personal in my life (the one’s I keep around anyway) tend to be exceptional.  They listen, they talk straight to me about risks and advantages and choices, and they seem to “get” the circumstances of my crazy life.

Treating a blood clot seems to work a lot like faith.  Once they find it, they put you on meds and don’t bother to really look again.  The doctors trust that the blood thinners will eventually dissolve the clot and in the meantime reduce the risks of complications.  The only evidence it’s working is a reduction in swelling and pain.  I’m grateful that I’ve got a team I can trust.

One of the things that’s come up is that it’s time to start a serious exercise program.  (Something more than ‘be more active’.)   I actually bought a swimsuit.  I have no idea how long it will fit, but the chances of my actually going to the pool have just increased significantly.  Not today of course, but my goal is to get there sometime this week.  Once I go, it will be easier to go again.  I’m really lucky to have those resources available to me and it’s high time I took advantage of them!

I wasn't sure the delivery truck and metro mobility wouldn't drive at the same time!

I wasn’t sure the delivery truck and metro mobility wouldn’t drive at the same time!

I still have swelling in my leg so it’s a balancing act between moving and elevating the leg.  I acquired a brand new recliner to help with that.  I’m not sure why I thought Monday morning between 7-9am would be a good delivery time.  It will be easier on my back than trying to lounge on the couch with my leg up!  Again, I am grateful to be able to do this, and I’m grateful for the recliner that died to make room for the new one as well.

In the land of debatable for my physical well-being, but phenomenal for the attitude adjustment is Karina.  She’s also been “in a mood” and so she called me and took me out to the movies.  We saw Mockingjay.  When she was a snotty teenager, I read the books and literally MADE her go to see the first movie.  She was not happy, didn’t want to, wasn’t going to like it.  She came home from the movie and read all three books and has waited in anticipation for each movie since.  I’m grateful that she took me.  She’s grateful that I introduced her to the series.   It’s nice to know I did something right.

I think I’ll start the week with Monday morning coffee and breakfast at Gilda’s Club

Gilda's Club Twin Cities (on a slow day)  That kitchen back there is divine!

Gilda’s Club Twin Cities (on a slow day) That kitchen back there is divine!

That’s another thing I’m grateful for.  The people are fabulous, the services the club provides powerful and necessary.  Being able to be a volunteer there takes me out of myself and puts me in service.  It also means I have the opportunity to take advantage of the wonderful programing.  Just walking in the red door is enough to create an attitude adjustment!

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Bio, grattitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I like the positive thinking and am going to focus on that as well. Hang in there my friend.

  2. Oo! New recliner! That’s EXACTLY what was needed. 🙂

  3. I hear ya, mirror that a bit and say “you go girl!” I’m with ya…I have to choose the positive!

  4. Thanks for this update, Lisa. You are a positive force, and you will eradicate any clot!

  5. Sometimes it’s hard, but you are always going to be served well by a positive attitude. Bravo!

  6. I don’t know, You’re entitled to whine a little but no, you don’t wanna get stuck. And you’re doing the right thing by looking at what you can be grateful for. It’s the only way out of a slump really.

  7. This sounds like a positive post to me, Lisa. You’ve experienced a challenge, expressed your dismay, and moved on to find gratitude. By the way, I’m pondering going swimming at a local pool this winter, too. Maybe will take your post as an extra nudge in that direction.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

