Travel

 

The Polaroid when I started at Gilda's in June 2014.  I finally made them take a new one.

The Polaroid when I started at Gilda’s in June 2014. I finally made them take a new one.

A friend at Gilda’s club asked me if I planned to have a big party when I hit my goal weight.  It hadn’t occurred to me at all, so I gave it a moment’s thought.  No, I could take or leave a big party.  What I’d really like to do is travel.  I want to go somewhere and do something fun.  Like go dancing, or take a hike in the mountains or something I haven’t been able to do for years.   Maybe New Orleans, maybe Italy, maybe my dream trip taking the train across Australia.

It’s fun to dream about travel, even when coming up with the money seems impossible.  But it’s travel season.  The stores are stocked with “sale on cruise wear” for people who stayed through the holidays and want to get out of the cold now that family obligations have been met.  This month the tags on my car and my drivers license need to be renewed.  Maybe I should take a look at my passport while I’m at it.

She really is sweet, when she's sweet.

She really is sweet, when she’s sweet.

Karina was off on a short trip, not too far from home, this weekend.  This means I had Miss Minnie.  She looks sweet and adorable all cuddled up in a blanket on the couch.  That’s because she’s all worn out from running away from me every chance she got!

Pantheacon is coming up again in San Jose.  I’m trying to get all packed, making lists and making arrangements for Orion.  I’m excited about doing another workshop this year.   This one is about mobility issues and energy management.  I think I could use a refresher!

Here's me and Jesse before.  He's got big ideas!

Here’s me and Jesse before. He’s got big ideas!

I’m fighting anemia while I’m trying to pull this all together.  My brain doesn’t work at 100% and I get “the dizzy”.   The extra doctor appointments haven’t helped either.  I start every one of them with, “You need to understand that I AM getting on a plane.”  It’s all about managing the blood thinners and continuing to dissolve the DVT without setting off a thrombosis.

To give myself a boost I made Karina make me an appointment with her fancy hair dresser.  Jesse at Hair Police is a dear.   He was very sweet, fussed over me, didn’t mind that I am incapable of making any decisions about my hair and I think he did a nice job.  It certainly brightened my mood.  It will also look a lot better in California!

It took me a minute, but I do like it.

It took me a minute, but I do like it.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on February 9, 2015, in Bio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

