Spirituality

When we don't pay attention it's hard to guess if the bud is blooming or fading.

When we don’t pay attention it’s hard to guess if the bud is blooming or fading.

I’ve been thinking a lot this past week about Spirituality.  In my book, Manifest Divinity, I talk about spirituality as our unique relationship to the Divine (however we might define that.)  I stand by that, because I do think spirituality is highly influenced by that feeling of connection.  But we all have moments when we question that connection, or wonder if it’s even there.

There is something that sustains us, even through that “dark night of the soul”.  We cling to life and are wired for survival, but WHEN people give up varies dramatically.  We press on, going through the motions, doing what needs to be done or we curl up and check out.  We continue to lean on the connection, out of faith or habit, we look for something “more concrete”, or we despair.

What we often don’t recognize is that challenges to spirituality often strengthen the connection.  When night falls we trust the sun will rise again, because that is our experience.  When winter comes we trust that eventually it will be spring, because we’ve seen that happen time and time again.  When we have lost touch with our spiritual connection, and hold on until it returns that too becomes our experience.

The geese are coming through headed north.  It doesn't mean warm, but it does mean hope.

The geese are coming through headed north. It doesn’t mean warm, but it does mean hope.

For many people, coming out the other side is what actually crystallizes their connection to spirit.   Having the experience of that dark night is the contrast that makes spirituality real.  Someone asked me a few weeks ago what was the experience that gave me such a strong connection to my own spirituality.  I don’t know.

I talk about playing the Faerie as a very young child in my book, When Gods Come Knocking: An Exploration of Mysticism from a Deity Based Perspective.  As far back as I can remember I’ve always felt connected to something.  Those connections have been challenged in large and small ways.

My mother tells the story of her 3-year-old daughter “disappearing” on Memorial Day weekend.  This is a big weekend in Minnesota.  It’s when everyone goes up to open the cabin at the lake.  They found me, with my dog, walking on the center meridian of the main highway headed north out of Minneapolis.   I was, apparently, unconcerned.  I don’t remember the incident, it had no impact on me.  I know I trusted the dog.

I got lost as a kindergartener trying to get home from a new friend’s house.  I do remember this one.  I found a spot to plant myself and cried.  A stranger (probably the woman whose house I was sitting in front of) collected me up and took me home.  I’ve always had the support I need when I really need it.  I also knew my own address.  I have to meet the Divine half way, and do my share of the work.

There's enough light now for herbs in the window.

There’s enough light now for herbs in the window.

Fifty years later I am again awed by the way help and support has appeared in my life when I needed it.  I trust it, I count on it, because I have no other choice.   I don’t take it for granted.  I know I’m expected to do my share of the work as well.  Some of that means getting up, going through the motions, and doing what needs to be done.

Spring is coming.  Light and warmth are returning.  The green peeks through and my hands are back in the dirt (inside, but in the dirt.)   It’s hard to have any perspective on spiritual journey while we’re walking that center median overwhelmed by traffic.  It’s the shift of time and distance that allows us to see how big the small miracles in our lives truly are.

.

My books are available in paperback or on kindle at Amazon or Immanion Press

 

Manifest Divinity Front Cover hi res

book_when_gods_come_knocking_small-1

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on April 6, 2015, in Acceptance, Pagan, spirituality, Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

