Rainy Days

Doctors offices are boring!  (but it was nice to grab lunch in the skyway cafe)

Doctors offices are boring! (but it was nice to grab lunch in the skyway cafe)

Both Orion and I had doctor appointments last week.  I was going to take photos and write all about our busy week.  But doctors offices are boring.  The appointments were too.  How many times in one week can you hear “make another appointment and we’ll deal with it next time.”  without feeling a little like you’re wasting your days?

Those big fat raindrops (that became snow) were beautiful!

Those big fat raindrops (that became snow) were beautiful!

The weather was all over the place last week.  We desperately need the moisture.  We didn’t have enough snow cover and the lakes and rivers are exceptionally low for this time of year.  I swear one day we had rain at 40 degrees, snow at 32, and then sunshine in the 50’s!  (And in that order!)

They made pretty patterns in the trees

They made pretty patterns in the trees

It’s too early to get to planting anything up here.  Our “last frost” date is May 15th, so we’ve got a wait.  It feels like we should be out digging though, and the ground is warm (warmish).  The nursery’s pansies (which are very hearty) are out, but not much else.

I did get out and start cleaning up around my peonies.  There’s plenty of yard work to do before planting can happen.  I’m just not in shape for it.  I try to get out a little bit every day (when it’s not raining, or snowing).  It doesn’t take much to make me worn out, but I’ve hopes of building up my stamina.  It’s nice to be able to get out at all.

And brightened up the buds!

And brightened up the buds!

It’s nice to be able to get down on the ground and get up again.  It’s nice to not be afraid to be outside without my phone in easy reach.  (Just in case I can’t get up!)  It’s nice to be digging in the dirt and feeling the sunshine warming my joints.  It’s nice to be able to come back in and soak in the tub. Last year I couldn’t do much outside and soaking in the tub isn’t allowed for 6 weeks post surgery.

I’m enjoying the rainy days. I catch myself singing. I’ll keep trying to take advantage of the sun when it shines.    Seems like a good plan.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on April 13, 2015, in Bio, seasonal, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. sometimes “boring” and uneventful is a GOOD thing 🙂

  2. I’m glad you’re getting up, Lisa. xo

Please feel free to leave a comment!

