Manifesting

I'm not manifesting a garden as much as reclaiming.  I do have a few volunteers.

I’m not manifesting a garden as much as reclaiming. I do have a few volunteers.

Manifesting has been a buzz word for quite a while now.  The book “The Secret” made a big deal about it.  There are all kinds of business protocols about dreaming big for your future.  People make vision boards to keep their eyes on the prize.  If you can make it work it’s the greatest.  If you can’t, it’s easy to feel like a failure – especially as a measure of spiritual connection.

.

Even when it's too early to plant, it's not too early for the weeds to get a foothold!

Even when it’s too early to plant, it’s not too early for the weeds to get a foothold!

I find it hard to get out of my own way when I can’t see where I’m standing.  I recognize when I’m 100% behind a desire, state it, work toward it, and it happens.  I also understand when I’m resisting my desires, even if I’m not always sure how or why.  Occasionally there are good reasons to put things off.  I’m not always aware of those either.

The books and workshops make it sound easy, but it’s not.  There’s a piece of manifesting that has to do with recognizing the flow of your life.  It’s like giving a toddler a choice between an apple and a chocolate and them having a tantrum because what they want is a banana.  The banana isn’t going to appear, but if they wanted an apple or a chocolate life is happy to give them one.

There are a few things I want right now.  One of them is a garden.  I’m digging beds out from under two years of overgrowth.  I’m not working very fast, or even in very long stints.  I’ll get as far as I get and I’ll be happy with that.  In the meantime I’m enjoying the process as much as I hope to enjoy the outcome.

There's so much overgrowth that it's hard to even find the bed.

There’s so much overgrowth that it’s hard to even find the bed.

Another thing I want right now is a schedule that allows me time to work and time to play.  I want time off being Orion’s Mom/Caretaker/Case Manager.  I’m pushing the edges of that the way parents do with grade school aged kids.  I ran off to the grocery store to pick up some milk before waking Orion up.  I’ve taught him how to get into the house so I don’t have to race home to be here before the bus.  I’ll let a sitter leave once he’s in bed, knowing he’ll just sleep and not notice when I get home.   It’s coming, but I’m not quite ready to let go either.  I get in my own way and I know it.

The third thing I want is an income, a career, a life.  It’s part of the reason I want that time off.  It’s also something I want to feel good about myself, my recovery, and just to be out in the world.  Being a writer is part of that.  Taking classes through the National Speakers Association is part of that.  But that’s building a business, and isn’t really impacting my cash flow in a positive way.

Sometimes it's just a matter of perspective.

Sometimes it’s just a matter of perspective.

I hit that line and told my daughter that I’m ready to look for a job.  The same day I got a call from a friend.  She knew someone who needed copy-editing done, right now.  It’s a short-term gig, and work (of all sorts) may come in bits and pieces.  But THAT’s manifesting!

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on April 20, 2015, in Bio, magic, spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

