Fertility

Fiddleheads are a delicious spiral treat in the spring

Fiddleheads are a delicious spiral treat in the spring

This year when I think about fertility rituals I am also recognizing the impact of my recent hysterectomy.  I’ve always been happy to include new beginnings and creative endeavors in my fertility rituals.  This year required a little more depth of thought.

It's nice to see the daffodils come up through the garden wreckage

It’s nice to see the daffodils come up through the garden wreckage

I have been blogging about reclaiming my garden spaces.  It really has been a long time since I’ve worked in some of them.  I’m grateful for the things that continue to come up, in spite of the total neglect.  That persistence is part of my understanding of fertility.  The strong desire to live, and to thrive.

Peas are sprouting.

Peas are sprouting.

There’s also an appreciation for the new.  The first flowers, the baby peas, and planting the annuals are all a part of spring awakening.  When the trees start to blossom it’s like fireworks.  The allergens may make my head a little “thick”, but my heart opens up.  Even the dandelions make me smile.

Maybe I'll get some plums this year.

Maybe I’ll get some plums this year.

As I’m digging in the ground it occurs to me that fertile earth is ready.  It’s full of potential, ready to accept and nurture whatever I may choose to plant.  It is willing to be willing.  I think this year that’s my challenge.

Digging in the dirt is just another way to celebrate spring.

Digging in the dirt is just another way to celebrate spring.

I’ve been through a lot, and it’s time to move forward.  It’s time to open up and accept whatever is offered.  It’s about being ready, being willing to be willing.   Hopefully all this new growth around me will inspire me to continue to take chances and accept the challenges and opportunities life throws my way.

Blessed May!

.

.

.

Previous blogs about Beltane and the first of May:

SpringMayBonus BlogBeltaine

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on May 4, 2015, in Bio, grattitude, seasonal, spirituality, Spring, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

