Gardening

This is the "before".  I've talked about digging the strawberries out of the grass in previous blogs.

This is the “before”. I’ve talked about digging the strawberries out of the grass in previous blogs.

I skipped last week’s post.  I’d like to say it was because I was in the garden.  I was, some.  Memorial Day weekend for us is typically cool and rainy, and this was no exception.  It’s also a big gardening weekend.  The tomatoes go in, now that we’re “safely” past the frost.  We’ve got such a short season that delaying past Memorial Day means possibly no harvest.

This is the "after".  I've got a ring dug out.  Yes, those are squash - hopefully they'll keep the grass down once the strawberries are done for the season.

This is the “after”. I’ve got a ring dug out. Yes, those are squash – hopefully they’ll keep the grass down once the strawberries are done for the season.

This year Memorial Day was early and the season late.  I order my plants from a company in Oregon. (Hoping that they’ll be climate ready when they arrive, which isn’t true if I order from a company in New Mexico!)  I finally called them, seeing no sign of the plants “shipping date May 15th” I was wondering if they’d received my order!  Apparently they are having unseasonable weather along with the rest of the country.  The plants aren’t ready to be shipped.

I dug some of my containers out from under the grapevines.  You honestly couldn't even see them before (kind of like that mess in the background)

I dug some of my containers out from under the grapevines. You honestly couldn’t even see them before (kind of like that mess in the background)

Part of me appreciates the extra time.  I’ve made comments about recovering my gardens from years of neglect.  I won’t get it done this year, but I am making slow progress.  One of my Facebook friends commented that she wanted to see photos – so that’s what this post is really about.

Got a start on the wildflowers/butterfly garden.  The bergamot seems to be holding it's own, but the columbine needed some help.

Got a start on the wildflowers/butterfly garden. The bergamot seems to be holding it’s own, but the columbine needed some help.

Hopefully my plants will arrive soon and I’ll have tomatoes before September!

The peonies seem happy to have some breathing room!

The peonies seem happy to have some breathing room!

Onion and salad greens are starting to show and peas where the tomatoes ought to be.

Onion and salad greens are starting to show and peas where the tomatoes ought to be.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on June 1, 2015, in Bio, seasonal, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I hope it’s a good season for our gardens, Lisa. Sometimes it just takes a while to get those plants in the ground. We’ve had frost the past few nights, so it’s a good thing nothing fragile is in there yet. Hoping your plants arrive soon!

  2. Your peonies are lovely. I only had one bloom this year, unfortunately. It was beautiful but a bit solitary.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

