Preparation

I’m posting late today because I went to get a haircut.  You must understand that I am entirely incapable of maintaining my hair style in a traditional (cut every 6 weeks) kind of way.  My last hair cut was in February.

I’m lucky to have hair that is flexible, adaptable and generally enviable.  My regular readers have seen photos of me in the last 8 months and none of you have commented “Looking good, but you could use a haircut”.  I’ll take the leap and say that mostly I haven’t looked like I needed one.

Thankfully, Jesse (my stylist at Hair Police) is pretty accepting of my cavalier attitude towards my hair.  He believes me when my response to “what would you like?” is “That I don’t need to fuss with it.”  We probably spend as much time chatting as he does actually cutting.  That’s “normal” in the stylists chair, but it’s not typical for me.

In February I was getting the “new look” in preparation for flying to California and presenting at Pantheacon.  (Go ahead and search that term out on my blog page.  You’ll find lots of entries.)   I didn’t get to go to San Jose, but the “new look” was helpful in the “keep your spirits up” department while I dealt with the cancer surgery.

Now I am again getting ready to travel.   I’d like to make a good impression on the people I’ll meet.  I’d like to do some networking with folks who speak on Spirituality for a living.  I’d like to look good, approachable, and “put together”.  I hope I’m not setting my bar too high!

Packing is still a challenge.  I can get twice as many clothes into the suitcase as I used to!  The problem is that I don’t have twice as many clothes that fit.  I don’t even have the dreaded swimsuit in a size that won’t fall off if it gets damp.  Usually before a trip I’m shopping for things like sample sized deodorant and toothpaste.  This time it’s about what do I have to wear.

I’m grateful to the thrift stores.  We went to one for Orion’s birthday and I picked up a few things for me as well.  I’m grateful for my friends who clean out their closets and hand stuff my direction.  I’m grateful for the women in my life (Karina and Carla) who are fond of “styling” and pick things out for me if they run across something that looks promising and size appropriate.  (They have a better eye for my size than I do!)   And of course I’m grateful to Jesse, not only for the haircut but also for taking the photo I promised:IMG_30301

Sadly I’m still going to have to shop for that swimming suit.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on October 12, 2015, in Bio, grattitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You are looking good, Lisa! Fun to stop by and see what’s happening in your world. Happy travels…

  2. You look like a whole other person. Not just the hair either. Though, it’s a mighty fine cut.

    I’ve clicked your gravatar from my site and I couldn’t get to your site. I thought you weren’t blogging anymore. Today, I went to my email and saw that you’re still kicking it.

    • I feel like a whole new person. I have much more energy than I used to. Trying to figure out how to live in this new lifestyle and maintain some balance. thanks for finding your way back!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

