Dentist

Remember, it could be worse!

Remember, it could be worse!

You might recall last Monday when I thought I had too much to do and not enough time to do it?  Today is the day.  I have rearranged my schedule to be a little more comfortable.  One of the things I didn’t move was a trip to the dentist.

I’m not one of those people who fears going to the dentist.  I’ve got a pretty high pain tolerance and have been fortunate in the people who’ve worked on my mouth.  In spite of all that I don’t want to go.

This is all about “I Don’t Wanna”.   The appointment is for a cleaning.  No drama, no pain, just a sparkling smile at the end of the day.  I’m spending the morning pouting and dragging my feet.

I have no excuses.  I can pretend it’s because it’s a rainy day.  I can pretend it’s because Orion’s bus was late.  I can stand in solidarity with France.  That’s not what this is about.  This is about having to adult.

We all have moments when we just don’t want to have to be the grown-up.  Adulthood is not everything we dreamed it would be when we were kids.  Yes we can eat when we want to, if we can afford it, cook it, and clean up after it.  Yes we can stay up as long as we want, and drag ourselves to work the next day, and sometimes the day after because “catching up” isn’t as easy as it used to be.

Thing is, we have also learned that it takes more effort to whine and fuss than it does to just do the thing.   Get it over with and move on.  Put a carrot (or a donut, or a good cup of coffee, or a cocktail) at the end of getting it done.  We KNOW this, but it doesn’t always show in our actions.

Peace Around The World couragecards.org

Peace Around The World
couragecards.org

So I’ll go to the dentist and get on with the rest of my day.  I’ll be grateful for a clean fresh mouth.  I’ll try to stay focused on the things I like about getting up and on with my day.  I’ll remember how nice it is to run my tongue over smooth clean teeth.  I’ll think about what I might like for a treat.

I’ll get over my “I Don’t Wanna”, and I’ll be pretty quick about it.  At least until the next one shows up.   (Have you started addressing those Christmas cards?)

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on November 16, 2015, in Acceptance, Bio, grattitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I can’t stand to visit the dentist, either.

  2. Christmas cards – ugh! At least let us get past Thanksgiving before you bring that up. (Smile) Best wishes on your dentist appt.

    • I have clean shiny teeth. I’m with you on waiting until Thanksgiving, except I know it’s coming late this year. I need all the time I can get to put off that job. 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment!

