Grateful

With my books at the WOW book fair at the Minneapolis Women's Club

With my books at the WOW book fair at the Minneapolis Women’s Club

November has been a very stressful month, and it’s not over yet.  Some of the stress has been in a good way, so I’m grateful.  I’m grateful for having the opportunity to speak at the Minneapolis Women’s Club at the Women of Words event.  I’m also grateful to have the opportunity to speak to our local Ostomy Society.  What a great bunch!   I’m grateful to the people at both presentations who took the time to tell me exactly why what I have to say had such a strong impact on them.

I’m grateful, as always, for my time at Gilda’s Club.  I’m putting in an extra shift this week, stepping in for another greeter.  Since Thursday is my usually day I’ve got a “day off” so I suppose it’s not really extra.  Besides, there’s a social event this morning so I would be there anyway!

I’m grateful that I’m not hosting Thanksgiving.  The family I grew up in has two generations under it.  I’m a Great Aunt.  The crowd is getting too big for us all to be together in one space.  It’s bittersweet to break it up.  At the same time I’m grateful for the opportunity to spend a little more intimate Thanksgiving rather than all the noise and chaos.   I’m grateful, especially after this summer, to still have both of my parents.  I’m grateful both of my children will be there.

Mom and Dad Thanksgiving 2014

Mom and Dad Thanksgiving 2014

I’m grateful for all the things I say I’m grateful for in my speeches.   Telling my story means I am revisiting points in my life where I had reason to be very grateful, for people, for circumstances, for support.  It’s challenging for me to open up that way, but it’s also a great reminder of how blessed I’ve been.

I’m looking at the Syrian refugees.  I’m looking at the shooting (by the police) of a black man just a few miles from my home that’s threatening to turn Minneapolis into Ferguson.  I’m looking at the bombing in Paris.   I have so much to be grateful for, so much bounty, so much privilege, even my stress seems minor in comparison.

So I give thanks and stand in gratitude and pray for healing around the world.

Happy Thanksgiving

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on November 23, 2015, in Bio, fall, grattitude, seasonal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

