Time Paradox

20151207_094624We live in a world where time is measured with precision to the second.  Even so, our experience of time seems much more subjective.  In this season when the nights are long and dark there is a natural slowing down.  In this season when the holiday rush is upon us there seems to be an imposed speeding up.  Maybe it’s this juxtaposition that has me struggling to make a schedule, stay on track and get anything accomplished.

I love the nights at this time of year, especially when there is snow on the ground muffling the sounds.  There is a peacefulness that descends with nightfall.  Lighting a fire in the fireplace and wrapping up in a warm blanket, hot drink in hand is clearly what’s called for on evenings like this.  I look at my “to do” list and think that all I really want is to curl up with a good book.0106141015

I have shopping to do.  Of course there is holiday shopping, but there is also the every day kind of shopping that is somehow more complicated this time of year.  Even the grocery store seems more crowded, parking is harder to find and stopping in anywhere requires shopping to a soundtrack of carols.  Getting anything seems to take forever.  In addition to these complications are my allergies.

Thankfully I’m not allergic to pine, as are several of my friends.  They come out of the stores stuffy and sneezy and it doesn’t let up until January.  My allergy is cinnamon, and it’s bad.  Even the scent of cinnamon will puff up my face and start my tongue swelling, my throat closing.  At least it’s easy to identify and I can usually walk away.  But the grocery stores have started stocking cinnamon brooms and cinnamon scented pine cones!

SO many good spices that aren't cinnamon!

SO many good spices that aren’t cinnamon!

Maybe if I should start exploring grocery delivery.  Then I could stay home curled in my blanket while the delivery drivers did my shopping.   But I don’t want to return to the days when I couldn’t do anything.  I enjoy being able to be out and about (and carry my 1 grocery bag to the car rather than going to drive-through).  I have the energy to spend browsing the shelves for gifts.  I just don’t have the time.

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on December 7, 2015, in Bio, grattitude, seasonal, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

