Making Memories

"Christmas" this weekend with my parents

“Christmas” this weekend with my parents

My parents are 80 years old.  My Mom had her birthday last month and my Dad is this spring.  It is becoming more and more apparent I won’t have them around forever and so the time I spend with them becomes precious.

My blogging buddy Andra Watkins speaks about the importance of making memories.   She walked the Natchez Trace with her Dad, and then wrote a book about her experience:  Not Without My Father.  She’s got a twitter feed at #makeamemory where people share their stories."Christmas" with my parents

When we asked my Mom what she wanted for her 80th birthday she said she wanted to go out with just her girls.  This isn’t as simple as it sounds.  There are schedules to shuffle, kids to arrange for, and some history of unpleasantness between us.    But it’s what she wanted, so I got on the phone.

We kept it a secret until Mom’s actual birthday.  Then my middle sister (the one who lives closest) gave her a card with an “invitation” inside.  Lunch with your daughters, January 2nd.  She was SO excited!  We didn’t “do Christmas” until just this past weekend so it was nice for her to have something to carry her through the actual holiday.

Even on the day we had a few minor scheduling issues.  I volunteered to pick up my little sister and forgot she’s outside of the GPS maps so we were a little late arriving.   My middle sister was babysitting and needed to drop off her Grandson “on the way”.   She was driving Mom, who also wanted to stop and pick up a few groceries.

Drinks first, then a LOT of food!

Drinks first, then a LOT of food!

In the end we all made it to lunch.  The waitress snapped a photo to prove it.  It was a pleasant leisurely afternoon.   We sat and ate and chit-chatted about nothing important.  We kept it all light and friendly.

My Mom was thrilled.  She still talks about how wonderful it was for us to do that for her.  She says finally, for the first time in her life, she got exactly what she wanted for her birthday.  We made her a memory.

For me, it’s not the lunch that’s the memory.  It’s being able to make my Mother so happy, with such a simple thing.  Aging is hard for her.  She struggles to continue to be relevant, to be heard, to participate and she does better than she thinks.  But this day, for her birthday lunch, she could be the center of attention, “the Mom”, and not have to work at all.

Priceless

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on January 25, 2016, in Acceptance, Books, grattitude, seasonal, spiritual, spirituality, winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I LOVE THIS STORY! YES, I’M SHOUTING! Thank you for sharing it. I’m so glad to read another instance of intentional memory making.

  2. Priceless, indeed. I especially loved this quote: “Aging is hard for her. She struggles to continue to be relevant, to be heard, to participate and she does better than she thinks.”

    What a great reminder of what our elders go through. How wonderful your mom has you. Makes me think of my mother and how much I miss her. I’m glad you’re there for yours. 🙂

  3. Awww. That is the sweetest. I love it when plans like that come together! Happy birthday to your mum! 😀

Please feel free to leave a comment!

