Hi’s and Low’s

Hyacinth ripe and waiting for another sunny day

Hyacinth ripe and waiting for another sunny day

It’s spring in Minnesota.  We’ve had unseasonable warmth and a very early spring this year.  But the weather is still unstable.  Yesterday there were highs approaching 70.  Today we can expect it to stay in the 30’s.   The weatherman is talking about snow.

Snow isn’t unusual in April.  It just seems unexpected after a warm week like last week.  I’ve started taking some planting risks with cold friendly seeds.  I’ve put in some peas.  I’ve set in some radish.  I’ve even sprinkled a little spinach about.

Onion's wintered over are coming up like gangbusters!

Onion’s wintered over are coming up like gangbusters!

I found some onion sets that wintered in my garage.  I’m tucking them in as I dig up preparing beds.   It would ordinarily be too early.  But when I look at my volunteers I have to think I’m being reasonable.

It’s cold today, and promises to be all week.  I’m hoping to get out in the yard again but my priorities are still in the house preparing for contractors.  I’m not sure how much I can or should plant, not just because of the weather.  I don’t know how much damage this construction project will do to my yard.

I swear the bleeding heart wasn't showing yesterday.

I swear the bleeding heart wasn’t showing yesterday.

Things are popping up all over.   As I sit bundled up waiting for the snow to fall I’ll take that as a hopeful sign.  It may be slow going, but the seasons do turn.  Likewise with this remodeling project, right now I’m waiting for contractors to write up proposals with actual numbers.  I can’t hurry it along, but I trust it’s still moving forward.

The strawberry bed still needs some serious work

The strawberry bed still needs some serious work

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on April 4, 2016, in Acceptance, Bio, seasonal, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am also experiencing spring in MN. When I met my friend for coffee this morning I had on a sweatshirt. When I left an hour and 15 minutes later there were snow flurries accompanying me and my dog for a walk. Ahhh, Minnesota 🙂

  2. Our “spring” is terribly unstable as well. How fun to find those onion sets! As of tonight’s dinner we are using the very last onion from last year’s garden. Ordinarily they are gone by January, but we had a bumper crop last year.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

