Back-up

This isn’t the post I was going to write today.  I was going to write about being outside.  I was going to write about enjoying a campfire.  I was going to write about going sailing.

Then I spilled a full mug of hot tea into my lap.

Besides worrying about getting burned and changing clothes and what a mess I made I also worried about what was in my lap.  My laptop.

I threw rice at it (because that’s what you do) but I didn’t have much in the house.  I’m not really eating rice since the bariatric surgery.  I went on my way and enjoyed the day on the water without thinking too much about it.

Monday morning, the time of reckoning.

It turns on, which is a good sign.  It seems like there’s a key stuck.  There’s all sorts of things being entered even when I’m not touching the keyboard.  When I try to type in something there are all kinds of extra characters.  I can’t log in.

I have my fingers crossed that there’s a piece of rice stuck under a key rather than the keyboard shorting out.  I’m afraid I’m not very hopeful about that.  So I have to think about what’s next.

My website designer is reading this shaking her head.  She pretty much tells me to back up every time we talk.  It didn’t come up yesterday, so this is the first time she’s hearing this story.

I recognize the importance of backing up.  I’ve done it now and again.  I don’t have an automatic set-up.  I don’t have a “system” where I back up every Friday (or whatever).  In fact, despite the regular reminders from my tech support I’m not really sure when I did my last back-up.

Not only am I unsure of when, I’m also not entirely sure of where.  There’s got to be a thumb drive somewhere in the house with my files and photos (at least from maybe 6 months ago?)  I’ve got a few thoughts about where it might be, but they’re tenuous at best.

Even if I find them I know I’m missing most of my latest book, photos that I’ve deleted from the phone and not shared on the web, and several recipes. I couldn’t say for sure what else, because my computer is the brains of this operation.

The stuff on the internet is redeemable, but it’s not in one place.  There’s no guarantee I can find it all or get it all back.  There’s a photo I’m particularly grateful I put on my phone under my parents’ number.  There’s another of Karina and my recent haircuts that if I didn’t share it on a blog may be lost forever.

So if I go to the genius bar today (you know they require you make appointments on line.  That’s a challenge when your computer is broken!) wish me luck.  And BACK-UP YOUR COMPUTER!

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on May 16, 2016, in Bio, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I had a cough with a mouthful of tea Friday… On the MacBook. It shows no signs of life. :(. I have so many recipes saved… And so forth and so on. I fear the worst. I hear you.

  2. Oh those awful technological woes–or any woes that disrupt our lives and change plans. Wishing you and your laptop full recovery. And future sailing stories!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

