Drama

My children (both) have always had a flair for the dramatic

My children (both) have always had a flair for the dramatic

I often have a lot of drama in my life.  I’m not really a drama queen.  I don’t go out of my way to look for dramatic things to happen.  I tend to underplay rather than overplay the things that are going on in my life.  Even when I sound dramatic “My kitchen cupboards are literally falling off the walls!”  I’m not dramatizing.  I do know what the word literally means and am using it appropriately.

I noticed this week that the drama in my life right now isn’t actually mine.  It’s rather refreshing.   There’s plenty going on.  My parents are exhausting themselves with their political activities.  My daughter is working herself into the ground.  I have friends in the hospital, going through divorce, fighting cancer, dealing with family change (dying parents, kids graduating).  I’m surrounded, but it’s not mine.

It’s not that it doesn’t impact me.  Last Friday was National Donut Day.

Karina really has been working hard this week! She says this is just the overflow.  There was no more room in the kitchen.

Karina really has been working hard this week! She says this is just the overflow. There was no more room in the kitchen.

My daughter bakes donuts.  Guess who got Minnie?  I helped my parents out where I could with accessibility issues.  I take late night phone calls from my friends.  I can do that, because right now it’s not my drama.

Orion spent the weekend with his Reach for Resources gang, so I was on my own schedule rather than his.  I went out to eat Friday (with a friend who needed an ear), Saturday (with my parents who needed a ride), and Sunday (to celebrate a birthday).  I got a couple long leisurely baths, a late morning sleep-in, and the opportunity to putter without feeling the need to accomplish anything in particular.

New friends and a really wonderful meal at the Italian Eatery.  Happy Birthday JoAnne!

New friends and a really wonderful meal at the Italian Eatery. Happy Birthday JoAnne!

I’m finding compassion much easier when I’m not also overwhelmed.  “Not my circus, not my monkeys.” gives me the opportunity to listen, be a resource, and also set my own boundaries.  I can be available without being “caught up” in the drama.  I am grateful!

 

http://www.italianeatery.com

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on June 6, 2016, in compassion, grattitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

