Fall Equinox

 

Beautiful day for a sail

Beautiful day for a sail

Equinoxes are about balance.  It’s the time where the amount of daylight equals the amount of night.  The reminder of the season has me working on balance as well.   I’ve finally gotten the internet back (knock on wood) and I’m actively trying not to let it absorb all of my time and attention.

I’ve written about balance, and about the fall equinox, many times before this.  Sometimes lessons seem like the same things over and over again.  But for me the reminders really do help.  I still need to be reminded that balance is active, not static.   One of the best ways for me to get that visceral understanding is to get on a boat.

Time with friends is important too!

Time with friends is important too!

Balance is about making sure that the list of things I need to do also includes time for my relationships.  I am really bad about initiating contact, making the phone calls, checking in without a schedule.  I also forget how much I need that interchange.  I need to take time for the good conversations (and the hard ones).  I thrive on sharing stories, information, lessons learned and lessons that we are still struggling to incorporate into our daily lives.

Balance is about finding time in between getting dinner on the table and earning enough money to pay the bills so that the floor gets swept and the laundry put away.  Balance is about watering the plants, but not too much.  It’s about bringing in the tomatoes before they rot on the vine and about drying the peppers before they go to mold.

It's still a workday for some people on the river

It’s still a workday for some people on the river

In such a politically volatile climate balance is finding a way to be of service without overloading.  It is about being firm and honest, and still polite.  It’s not just the election.  It’s the pipeline.  It’s the nurses strike.  It’s Black Lives Matter.  It’s all the shootings, stabbings and bombings.  Sometimes it is about shutting out Facebook (the wifi in your home going down is a really effective means of taking a break from the mudslinging).

Captain Beth at WIMNSail.net

Captain Beth at WIMNSail.net

Balance is about getting enough sleep.  (I’ve had too many late night/early mornings in the last month!)  It’s about taking the time for real food.  (I’m pretty good about that, it’s just that I also try and do 6 other things while I’m eating it.)  It’s about being in the moment.  Sometimes that means writing things down so that you don’t have to hold them until you need them.  Sometimes it means remembering to bring that grocery list with you when you go to the store.

So today I’m filling this blog with photos from sailing with friends.  We need more “time out in nature” in our busy lives.   We need to enjoy and appreciate our friends.  We need to remember  balance is active (like being on a boat) not static (like sitting on the ground).   Have a happy Equinox!

Coming back to town "Red at night....."

Coming back to town “Red at night…..”

 

Previous Fall Equinox posts:

Good Tired

Autumn

Darkness

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on September 19, 2016, in Bio, fall, grattitude, seasonal, spiritual and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

