The Safety Pin

resized_20161115_091157There is a movement suggesting that people who are willing to be supportive of blacks, hispanics, LGBTQ, women and other communities being targeted by Trump inspired racists wear a safety pin to indicate that they hold a safe space.

There is a backlash from those communities.  There is anger that privileged whites think that just wearing the safety pin IS supportive.  It’s too little, too late.  Wearing a safety pin indicates intention, which frankly doesn’t count.  There are plenty of “well-intentioned” people who are happy to “mansplain” away the concerns of these threatened populations.  There are plenty of “well-intentioned” people who are sure they have the “solution”.  There are plenty of “well-intentioned” people who wonder why we can’t all just get along.

There is also a backlash from the racists (who resent being called racists because they feel that they are entitled to define what that term means – and it can’t be them because they are “good people”).   There is an “If you’re not with me you are against me” mentality.  There is harassment, from a meme being generated that that safety pin is a diaper pin and we’re all crying babies to actual physical confrontations.

I know people in all of these communities and I hear them.  Because I hear them I recognize that I can’t just “join the bandwagon” I need to make an active choice.  If I choose to wear the pin what does that mean?  If I choose not to wear the pin what does that mean?

I choose to wear the pin.  Here’s what it comes down to for me:

  1. Wearing the pin is a visible identification of some kind of support.   For a community that often feels very isolated just seeing someone making that small an effort can make a difference.
  2. Wearing the pin does not entitle me to anything.  It doesn’t entitle me to respect from these communities.  It doesn’t instantly bestow understanding.  It doesn’t in itself create the “safe space” it’s meant to indicate.
  3. Wearing the pin means I have an obligation to open my eyes and increase both my awareness and willingness to intervene.  That means more than filming an arrest or calling someone out on foul language.  That means being aware of the clerk keeping an eagle eye on the black woman in the store with me.  That means being aware of the cashier happy to chat with me after demanding identification from the hispanic man in front of me.  That means being aware of the stink eye look being given to the gay couple in the restaurant.  That means being willing to share a seat on the bus with a homeless man.  That means knowing when to shut my mouth and when to open it.
  4. Wearing the pin means I am willing to be a target.  It means I am willing to be a target from the communities that I want to support.  A safe space means a safe space for them to vent their anger, frustration and fear.  A safe space means I may be “harassed” for being a white woman who thinks wearing a pin is enough.  A safe space for the people being targeted means that I may be exposed to feelings that are unpleasant, uncomfortable and I may not feel safe.   Too bad for me.
  5. Wearing the pin means I am willing to be a target for the racist backlash.  I will be perceived as being part of the communities they threaten: the disabled, those with racial differences, those with non binary gender identities etc.  I will be putting myself in the position of being willing to accept some of the harassment those groups experience every day.
  6. Wearing the pin means wearing the pin.  It is privilege to chose to wear the pin or not.  The people in these groups do not have that choice.  They can’t take off their race, their self identity, their handicaps.  They can’t not be targets.  Ultimately that is why I must be a target as well.  I must wear the pin.
About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on November 15, 2016, in Acceptance, Bio, compassion, kindness, spiritual and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please feel free to leave a comment!

