Walking on Water

Walking on Water

Walking on Water

Up in the North where winters are actually cold, walking on water in February isn’t really as dramatic as it sounds.  But as a metaphor it seems to serve how I’m feeling today.  On the one had I have been getting a lot accomplished in the past few weeks.  I had an article published by the Pagan News Collective; I’ve done some research on publishers for my book and am preparing to speak to more later this month; I’m enjoying my new stove and computer and my taxes are with the accountant.  Generally speaking life is good.

On the other hand, the one where walking on water means you’re out in the middle of a vast expanse of frozen wasteland with the cold wind blowing and no place to hide, I’m feeling a little lost.  I’ve been doing enough writing outside of this blog that I’m not sure what to put in it.

This things are really good/ things are really bad dichotomy seems to run pretty dramatically through my life.  Even when things are at there worst I’ve always been able to put together a list of some things that are really good.  Even when things are at their best there’s always something that needs more work.

Ice Fishing on Medicine Lake

Ice Fishing on Medicine Lake

Looking at it across that vast expanse of ice it seems to be very obvious that it’s all about perspective.  The really interesting thing is that perspective is something we ALWAYS have a choice about.  It may be difficult to find an alternative perspective, but no one can take the choice of perspective away.  It’s something that’s worth thinking about.

If we are the one’s who choose our perspective then why don’t we always choose the perspective that serves us best?

That doesn’t mean that we should all look at the world through rose colored glasses.  But maybe choosing to look at the bad stuff with the intention to actually do something about it is better than looking at the “bad” stuff to prove how miserable we are.  Likewise (and this is a big one for me) taking time to look at the good stuff and not worry about all the things still on the “bad” list.

So maybe instead of worrying about what I’m going to write for this weeks blog I’ll just get in line at the drive through.  A cup of good coffee always brightens my perspective!

Large Dark Chocolate Mocha with a shot of Peppermint, Please

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Acceptance, spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Perspective is a choice. The first step in freedom is to realize that.
    I hope your day chose to be a good one.

  2. Bonita Blumenauer

    For me, sometimes trying to pause and redirect a certain choice pattern can feel like pulling the brakes on a train in order to steer it onto a different path. Though the change in perspective alone usually makes it worth the effort.

  3. How I like your philosophy! I agree 150%! (And I also once posted a blog about walking on water just like yours. Our bay is not freezing this year due to the warm weather and I wish my ice-fishing husband would adopt our philosophy about the change in perspective…)

  4. Where is Medicine Lake again? What state are you in?

Please feel free to leave a comment!

