100

October 2013

October 2013

I don’t know why the numbers make such a difference.  Ever since my bariatric surgery the question I get asked most often is “How much have you lost?”   Since the answer to that question depends a lot on where I start counting from even the numbers are ambiguous.  Do I start with my “top weight”?   Do I start with the weight on my bariatric surgeon’s chart from my first visit?   Do I start with the weight I had on the day of surgery?

It doesn’t help that I can be very casual about numbers.  I’m good with math, but I don’t really remember numbers well.  Every time I’ve moved (and it’s not that many times) I get my checks changed immediately, so I can LOOK whenever someone asks my address.  It takes me months!  The best thing about cell phones is that I get to keep my phone number.  I didn’t change plans until I could.

I can’t even remember how old I am.  My kids remember.  I could do the math, but if someone is asking I figure if they really want to know THEY can do the math.   I was 23 for 3 years, it was a number I could remember.  I’m bad with my kids ages too.  I don’t believe Orion just turned 26, but I’m sure he’s right.

I didn’t go into the bariatric surgery with my eyes on the numbers.  I cared about energy and mobility and health.  All of those things are noticeably improved.  I can stand longer, do more and am more comfortable.  I no longer shuffle when I walk.  I even put on a pair of heels.   I can curl up in my favorite chair.  I don’t need as many pillows in my bed.  I don’t get winded coming up the stairs.  These are the things that matter.PART_1413728483170_20141018_142123

Still, there’s that number.  100.  It makes a difference.  It shouldn’t, but it really does.  Hitting the 100 lb weight loss mark is a milestone, like it or not.  It doesn’t matter what percentage of my weight I’ve lost, or how much I have left to go.  It’s just that number.

I’ll hit it several times, depending on where I count from.  But I suspect the impact of the milestone will only hit me this once.  So, I’ll claim it.  Let’s hear it for 100!

About lisaspiral

I've been writing and speaking about spirituality to small groups for years and am looking to expand my horizons. Hopefully this blog will inspire you to expand yours as well.

Posted on October 20, 2014, in Bio and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. You look amazing! I’m so happy for you.

  2. YAY!! So great, Lisa. You look awesome. And I know you’ve been feeling better, too.

  3. Whatever makes you feel accomplished and motivates you to move forward is the right number to claim at whatever time you want to claim it. I love seeing you able to be up and around. The level of frustration you felt was profound.

  4. Hey, I can almost see the energy, mobility and health shining out from that picture! I honor your ability to not care much about numbers. As an *almost* reformed number addict, I am trying to become more like you. Congratulations, though. 100 is a good number to celebrate.

  5. I am very glad for you. Although the weight loss was an obvious goal, I am more interested in how you are doing and feeling because I like you for your mind, personality and kindness. I am impressed with your attitude about the whole process of it :-). It takes an amazing strength to do all that you have done..very proud of you!!

  6. Congrats 2 you on that. Trying to bring sexy back. 🙂

  7. You are amazing. Keep on counting!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

